my n/a build...need some help

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

rsaeini

i did a little bit of research and couldn't really find anything on this particular topic so here we go.

i have a B16A2 and it's getting outfitted with the following:
-CTR pistons (standard bore)
-Skunk2 Stage 2 cams
-portflow dual valve springs and retainers
-2 layer head gasket

there are a lot of other things going in but my major issue is the clearance.

my question is about the piston-valve clearance.

will it be ok?
OR
am i pushing the envelope?

UPDATE: i can't decide which route to take.

i was planning on doing the above but one of my friends gave me a really smart idea. he said instead of building that B16 bottom end i should replace it with a B18C1 and basically make a homemade ITR but with one small difference...Skunk2 cams.
i've been going back and forth on this for about about 2 weeks now. i don't know which one to do.
the B18 will give me more power and more important...more torque. <---a must in road racing but it will cost me about an extra $1000
but the B16 will be a lot cheaper of a build since i have everything except for the CTR pistons. it will only cost me about $200.

WHAT SHOULD I DO???

Clay it just to be sure. Get ITR lost motion assemblies.

A GSR bottom would work well with that setup. You'll probably want to go to aftermarket pistons though, since the B16 head on the GSR block will give you lower compression than a stock GSR.

spend the extra grand NOW rather than later... I can't stress this enough... you will NOT be satisfied with a mildly built B16. I know because I had the same dilemma you did, then i ended up getting an ls block, boring it out and putting pr3 pistons in it anyways. make the smart choice now, it will cost you less in the long run

according to the C-SpeedRacing's compression calculator...the B18C block with PR3 pistons and a B16 head will actually bump up the compression to 11.11:1