My new job...

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

YouKnowWhoIBee

my avatar is better.
So i am sitting at work today thinking how much i hate my job :D . I am a 20 year old carpenter by day and a full time college student majoring in accounting at a major university in maryland at night. And i really do hate my job. I feel like i am wasting my life doing such pountless work. Well anyway i am in search of ideas on what field i should look into for a job that pays decent and i can still go to college and work with no problem and also pay all my bills ( i have alot of them...). So basically a job that is available either 7-3 or a like... 2-10ish. I still wanna work fulltime but just hours i can schedule my classes around. And i was wondering if you had any suggestions? Or maybe tell where you work or where you did work when you were my age... Anything will help but refrain from stupid minimum wage jobs and smartass answers i am just trying to get a job to get by and find one i actually can deal with. My career into accounting will come soon enough but i just need some suggestions. TiA
-Joe

Since I am in the field of Auditing and Assurance, I would recommend working 10-20hrs a week at some local CPA firm, even a larger firm over the course of the semester. During the summer I would do internships with the Big Boys. Depending if Maryland is a 150+ hr CPA requirement state I would also recommend getting the hrs done with. That is if you want to get into public accounting. By having the basic real world experience come time for on campus recruiting you'll be sought after much like I was down here in Florida.

Also if you play your cards right and research what it actually takes to transition from college to career you'll be way ahead of the pack.