1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

my oil feed line setup

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by civic15.8, Dec 3, 2003.

  1. civic15.8

    civic15.8 Senior Member

    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    alabama
    Ok i have heard that when you tap in to the block for oil go for the adapter that goes between the block and oil filter. Or you could screw a t-fitting into the block where the oil pressure switch is but it has been known to break there because of vibration.

    So i was planning on running it this way
    Taking a -3an stainless steel braided line in to the block where the oil pressure switch is. Then hook up a t-fitting so i can run a oil line, the switch, and a oil pressure gauge.

    Will this work?
     
  2. Accordturbo94

    Accordturbo94 Senior Member

    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Of course it will! Its actually a slick idea! I know of some people (caugh caugh me) who just threaded a T in the block! I guess they say not to do that in case it snaps off! But when you use that line out of the block to the T fitting youll be ok! Some people also do it out of the copper tubing and make a loop!
     
  3. civic15.8

    civic15.8 Senior Member

    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    alabama
    yea i heard about the cooper tubing to but i thought of this and i figured id do it instead

    thanks :worthy:
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home

    you don't tap into the block ever. the 2nd way you describe is the way that breaks.

    the pressure dummy light switch can be removed and a 1/8" BSPT fitting screwed into place.

    1/8 BSPT to -3 an male/male
    ss line to firewall
    npt "t" fitting mounted to firewall
    plug the oil sender in one hole, and use 2 more of the npt fittings on the other two holes... for the ss line... and then use another ss line to go to the turbo

    or, do it the right way- run a sandwhich adapter

    http://www.goldeneaglemfg.com/str_vtec.html
     
  5. civic15.8

    civic15.8 Senior Member

    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    alabama
    ok thanks B i would go with the sandwich adapter but i already have all i the stuff i said before (my dad had the stuff in his garage unused)so i decided to use it instead but thanks anyways
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    just make sure you mount the T to the firewall for support.

    they break cuz people let them hang, or T-off right after the block. the fitting and the line are not a big deal, but adding all the extra hardware is
     
  7. civic15.8

    civic15.8 Senior Member

    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    alabama
    allright thanks B and Accordturbo94
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page