My poor noob addled mind...

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

drbelanger73

Beer is good for you.
Help me out on this one:

Sport Compact Car Engine Driveline Handbook p 56 (Motorbooks Workshop copyright 2003) said:
If you are replacing the factory pistons you can specify a piston grade a little bit bigger and hone the cylinder to get the fit. This gives you the benifit of a nice, fresh bore surface, as you never want to put new rings in a used bore - they will not break in properly and will not seal that way.

I am a comm/radar tech by trade. In my buisness i can open up a WSC(V)3 UHF Tranceiver that is geared up for sat-comm, swap out a few modules, and bam i now have a line of site WSC. I have this same idea when it comes to the JDM B18C and the USDM B18C1.

From what i read they are the same damn engine, with different internals. That is how the JDM engine gets its hp over the USDM (?)

Moving along i understand a bore to be an increase in size and honing to be polishing and resurfacing.

What i would like to do is replace the B18C1 pistons with the B18C pistons in order to increase compression. I had also intended to have some work done on the head to seat the JDM valves, replace the cams with JDM spec, and also replace the springs. I´m not sure about throttle body and headers yet i haven´t gotten that deep into it. Now in my mind, like with a WSC, that would then create an engine near to or better than the B18C.

Reading what i just read in my little handbook here that would tell me that this is not possible. If the cylinder honing enlarges the cylinder then i will not be able to use the JDM replacements OR is this what oversize rings are for? Also, being that i am using OEM honda parts, granted JDM, would i have to balance the crank again?