N2O block build

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Abrasintegra

Alright I got my block disassembled now it's time for my build. I'm a nitrous noob, but I want to run as big of shot as I can safely. I'll be doing the block fill that's described on the main page to a b18b block, I've already got my pistons they're ITR's from honda, I guess my question is what would be my best choice for rings that will withstand a healthy shot every now and again. I was going to run just oem honda rings but that was before I bought my NX kit. Thanks.

its all in the tuning. the rings dont matter all that much. whatever you make for crank hp, add 50% for nitrous. thats with simple tuning. eventually, if you are a mad scientist, you can run upto 75% additional in nitrous.

example

200 crank hp means 100 shot (if at 50%)
200 crank hp means 150 shot (if at 75%)

i suggest direct port for larger shots, but you should be safe runnin a 100shot witha single fogger.

if you said rings dont matter you are silly. the composition doesnt matter a LOT, but it still matters...what really matters is the gap. im not sure how much you extra you are supposed to take off for the nitrous, but definitely not advisable to run stock sized rings with N2O...just not smart.

also 150 shot on cast pistons is asking a lot. if you can cancel the order, id get some JE, Wiseco, or Arias pistons...something forged....

MOST of your power is going to come out of your tune for this. 150 shot on 11:1 compression is going to make your motor explode on 93 octane. we ran 12:1 with a 200 shot on C16 gas and we still broke 2 rods, bent another and blew a hole in the block. thats after 3 weeks of tuning that car in progressive shots...So Go Crome or Go Home....and i wouldnt suggest much more than 10:1 compression for a 150 shot...thats just silly.