1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need a PHP Junkie

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by JDMPlaya, Oct 25, 2005.

  1. JDMPlaya

    JDMPlaya Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Code:
    <?
    include("../conf.php");
    include(DB_INC_FILE);
    
    $table_name = "greg_chamblin";
    
    $business_name_for_display = stripslashes($business_name);
    
    
    $db = @mysql_select_db($db_name, $connection) or die("Couldn't select DCW Chamblin delete database.");
    
    $sql = "DELETE FROM greg_chamblin WHERE id_num =\"$id_num\"";
    
    $result = @mysql_query($sql,$connection) or die("Couldn't execute DCW Chamblin Delete query.");
    
    ?>
    
    
    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    
    <TITLE>>Business ID <? echo "$id_num"; ?> Deleted</TITLE>
    </HEAD>
    <bodybgcolor="white" leftmargin=0 topmargin=0 text="black" link="navy" vlink="blue" alink="red">
    
    <br><br>
    
    <center><font face="Arial" size="4" color="navy"><b>Business Deleted</b></font></center><br>
    <center><table align="center">
    <tr>
    <td width="3"><br></td>
    <td valign="top">
    
    <font face="Arial" size="+1" color="Black">Business IDNumber - <? echo "$id_num"; ?><br>
    BusinessName -<? echo "$business_name_for_display"; ?><br>
    <b>DELETED</b></font><br>
    
    </td>
    <td width="3"><br></td>
    </tr>
    </table></center>
    
    <center><a href="./admin_menu.php">Return to Main Admin Menu</a></center>
    
    </BODY>
    </HTML>
     
    I'm trying to get a pop up that says "are you sure you want to delete this item" or something like that.. anyone know the line of code to do this?
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    pop ups are client side with javascript or ECMAScript... php won't do this for you.
     
  3. JDMPlaya

    JDMPlaya Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    I'll check it out, thanks
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    do something like:

    <script type="text/javascript">

    function checkit() {
    if (confirm("Are you sure you want to delete this?")) {
    return true;

    } else {
    return false;
    }
    }
    }
    </script>

    and your link like this:
    delete


    this will bring you to the prompt before it will move onto the link...
     
  5. JDMPlaya

    JDMPlaya Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    this is where I added the onclick
    Code:
    $display_block .= "
    <form action=\"./admin_del.php\" onclick=\"checkit();\" method=\"POST\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"id_num\" value=\"$id_num\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"business_name\" value=\"$business_name\">
    <input type=\"submit\" value=\"Delete this Business\" name=\"Delete this Business\"</form>
    <form action=\"./admin_edit.php\" method=\"POST\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"id_num\" value=\"$id_num\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"business_name\" value=\"$business_name\">
    <input type=\"submit\" value=\"Edit Data for this Business\" name=\"Edit Data for this Business\">
    </form>
    <hr align=\"LEFT\" size=\"2\" width=\"100%\" color=\"navy\" noshade>
    ";
    }
    ?>
    
    than in my HTML header i put
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    
    function checkit() {
    if (confirm("Are you sure you want to delete this Business?")) {
    return true;
    
    } else {
    return false;
    }
    }
    }
    </script>
    
    It didnt prompt, but i probably did something wrong .. see anything?
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    yeah,you aren't clicking the form. lol there is no onclick() attribute for a form.

    it needs to be on either a <ahref ... > link or on an <input type="button" onclick=checkit();" />

    -------------


    Code:
    <input type=\"submit\" value=\"Delete this Business\" name=\"Delete this Business\" onclick=\"checkit();\">
    
     
  7. Xaero3953

    Xaero3953 Senior Member

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Location:
    Ft. Worth, TX
    [​IMG] Just what I was about to say...
     
  8. JDMPlaya

    JDMPlaya Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    hmm still doesnt work

    here is a snippet of my code again for reference

    Code:
    $display_block .= "
    <form action=\"./admin_del.php\" method=\"POST\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"id_num\" value=\"$id_num\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"business_name\" value=\"$business_name\">
    <input type=\"submit\" value=\"Delete this Business\" name=\"Delete this Business\" onclick=\"checkit();\"></form>
    <form action=\"./admin_edit.php\" method=\"POST\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"id_num\" value=\"$id_num\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"business_name\" value=\"$business_name\">
    <input type=\"submit\" value=\"Edit Data for this Business\" name=\"Edit Data for this Business\">
    </form>
    <hr align=\"LEFT\" size=\"2\" width=\"100%\" color=\"navy\" noshade>
    ";
    }
    ?>
    
    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    
    function checkit() {
    if (confirm("Are you sure you want to delete this Business?")) {
    return true;
    
    } else {
    return false;
    }
    }
    }
    </script>
    
    <TITLE>Administer by Business Name</TITLE>
    </HEAD>
    <bodybgcolor="white" leftmargin=0 topmargin=0 text="black" link="navy" vlink="blue" alink="red">
    
    <br><br>
    
    <center><font face="Arial" size="4" color="navy"><b>Administer by Business Name</b></font></center><br>
    <center><table align="center">
    <tr>
    <td width="3"><br></td>
    <td valign="top">
    
    <font face="Arial" size="+1" color="Black"><? echo "$display_block"; ?></font>
    
    </td>
    <td width="3"><br></td>
    </tr>
    </table></center>
    
    <center><a href="./index.php">Return to Admin Menu</a></center>
    
    </BODY>
    </HTML>
    
     
  9. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    try doing it as an onSubmit in the form tag.
     
  10. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    http://hondaswap.com/temp/test.php

    cancel does nothing, ok takes you to the admin_del page (which pbviosuly isn't on my server, so it goes to the generic 404.


    if JAVASCRIPT is turned off, this will fail miserably.

    know this before implementing.

    Code:
    <?php
    
    $display_block .= "
    <form id=\"frmdefault\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"id_num\" value=\"$id_num\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"business_name\" value=\"$business_name\">
    <input type=\"button\" value=\"Delete this Business\" name=\"Delete this Business\" onclick=\"checkit();\"></form>
    <form action=\"./admin_edit.php\" method=\"POST\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"id_num\" value=\"$id_num\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"business_name\" value=\"$business_name\">
    <input type=\"submit\" value=\"Edit Data for this Business\" name=\"Edit Data for this Business\">
    </form>
    <hr />
    ";
    ?>
    
    <html>
    <head>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    
    function checkit() {
    if (confirm("Are you sure you want to delete this Business?")) 
    {
    document.getElementById("frmdefault").action = "admin_del.php";
    document.getElementById("frmdefault").method="post";
    document.getElementById("frmdefault").submit();
    return;
    }
    else 
    {
    return false;
    }
    }
    </script>
    
    <title>Administer by Business Name</title>
    </head>
    <body>
    <h1>Administer by Business Name</h1>
    
    <div><?php echo $display_block; ?></div>
    </body>
    </html>
    

    as an aside, your html sucks. there is no use for a table. you should learn html mark up structure and css to style stuff.
     
  11. JDMPlaya

    JDMPlaya Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    hmm..Now the prompt does come up but it does not take you to the delete page, It does nothing by clicking "okay"

    once again here is my code

    Code:
    <?
    include("../conf.php");
    include(DB_INC_FILE);
    
    $search_string_name = stripslashes($search_string_name);
    
    // ////////////////// block of variable to change for different display SORTING methods //////////////
    // Next variable is sorting method for display - Change it for different sorting methods 
    $order_by_field = "last_name";
    
    // Next variable is the file name of this file
    $current_file_name = "sel_by_business_name.php";
    // ////////////////// end of block of variables to change //////////////////////////////////////////////
    
    $table_name = "greg_chamblin";
    $db = @mysql_select_db($db_name, $connection) or die("Couldn't select DCW Equitable database.");
    
    $order_by_field_1 = premium;
    $order_by_field_2 = business_name;
    $sql = "SELECT id_num, business_name, first_name, last_name, address1, address2, city, state, zip, phone, fax, email, web_address, logo, business_type_1, business_type_2, business_type_3
    FROM $table_name
    WHERE business_name LIKE \"%$search_string_name%\"
    ORDER BY $order_by_field_1, $order_by_field_2
    ";
    $result = @mysql_query($sql,$connection) or die("Couldn't execute DCW Equitable Read query.");
    
    while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result)) {
    $id_num = $row['id_num'];
    $business_name = $row['business_name'];
    $first_name = $row['first_name'];
    $last_name = $row['last_name'];
    $address1 = $row['address1'];
    $address2 = $row['address2'];
    $city = $row['city'];
    $state = $row['state'];
    $zip = $row['zip'];
    $phone = $row['phone'];
    $fax = $row['fax'];
    $email = $row['email'];
    $web_address = $row['web_address'];
    $logo = $row['logo'];
    $business_type_1 = $row['business_type_1'];
    $business_type_2 = $row['business_type_2'];
    $business_type_3 = $row['business_type_3'];
    
    $display_block .= "
    ID Number = $id_num<br>
    <strong>$business_name</strong><br>
    $first_name $last_name<br>
    $address1<br>";
    if ($address2 != "") {$display_block .= "$address2<br>";} 
    $display_block .= "
    $city, $state $zip<br>
    Phone: $phone<br>";
    if ($fax != "") {$display_block .= "FAX: $fax<br>";} 
    if ($email != "") {$display_block .= "$email<br>";}
    if ($web_address != "") {$display_block .= "$web_address<br>";}
    if ($logo != "") {$display_block .= "Logo Image: $logo<br>";} 
    $display_block .= "
    Type of Business:<br>
    $business_type_1 <br>";
    if ($business_type_2 != "") {$display_block .= "$business_type_2<br>";}
    if ($business_type_3 != "") {$display_block .= "$business_type_3<br>";}
    
    $display_block .= "
    <form action=\"./admin_del.php\" method=\"POST\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"id_num\" value=\"$id_num\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"business_name\" value=\"$business_name\">
     <input type=\"button\" value=\"Delete this Business\" name=\"Delete this Business\" onclick=\"checkit();\"> </form>
    <form action=\"./admin_edit.php\" method=\"POST\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"id_num\" value=\"$id_num\">
    <input type=\"hidden\" name=\"business_name\" value=\"$business_name\">
    <input type=\"submit\" value=\"Edit Data for this Business\" name=\"Edit Data for this Business\">
    </form>
    <hr align=\"LEFT\" size=\"2\" width=\"100%\" color=\"navy\" noshade>
    ";
    }
    ?>
    
    <html>
    <head>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    
    function checkit() {
    if (confirm("Are you sure you want to delete this Business?")) 
    {
    document.getElementById("frmdefault").action = "admin_del.php";
    document.getElementById("frmdefault").method="post";
    document.getElementById("frmdefault").submit();
    return;
    }
    else 
    {
    return false;
    }
    }
    </script>
    
    <center><font face="Arial" size="4" color="navy"><b>Administer by Business Name</b></font></center><br>
    <center><table align="center">
    <tr>
    <td width="3"><br></td>
    <td valign="top">
    
    <font face="Arial" size="+1" color="Black"><? echo "$display_block"; ?></font>
    
    </td>
    <td width="3"><br></td>
    </tr>
    </table></center>
    
    <center><a href="./index.php">Return to Admin Menu</a></center>
    <div>
    <hr />
    
    </div>
    </body>
    </html>
     
  12. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    it doesn't work because you didn't copy the code i gave you.

    your form tag is fucked.

    getElementById won't work if you don't have a form id="X"
     
  13. JDMPlaya

    JDMPlaya Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    When I copy the code you gave me, When I click okay, it goes nowhere
     
  14. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    go to my test link... it works. thats the code i have quoted above.

    100%.

    you don't have the id in the form tag.
    you need to remove the action and method fromt he form tag.

    if my test page doesn't work either, you don't have javascript enabled.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page