need advice!

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

turnrightracing

Alright so here is the story. I have a v6 mustang right now, which I am going to sell for about $8000. This is enough to get an old (preferably 1993 body style) civic hatch SI, with a bigger engine.

I have little knowledge as what engine to get. I was looking at a B22, however I want to boost the engine, and I heard that the B22's compression ratio is too low to boost it.
Basically I'm looking for an engine that will make the car faster then my v6 mustang (200hp) and that is easy enough to boost without problems.

Because of my lack of knowledge, I figured I'd come here and ask the pro's right?

Performance is my main outlook right now...not the look of the car. That's later. All I need is a modded engine...with nice exhaust (also I dont need a lot of boost....10-12lbs is fine.)

Ideas...?

you need to research first. honda didn't make a "B22" engine.

If you want a quick little car on a budget, find yourself an Si with a clean body.

build a little turbo kit for about $1500. it will destroy your old mustang because of the power to weight ratio.

if you want to stay NA, get yourself a b18c1/integra gsr motor. i/h/e.

you should be able to get a car and turbo it for less than $5000. work on the suspension and tires and you will be golden.

I know the gsr makes roughly 190 hp right?

I really want to stay all honda and no integra motors...plus I'd need the gsr tranny...(6 bolt as opposed to 4)

as far as the b18c goes...do you think this would be the best motor to boost...or would you say leave this N/A....and how much hp does it put out without mods?

edit: sorry about the b22 thing...I heard someone had a B22 in their car...and I asked a guy about it who told me what I said. Just goes to show don't believe everything you hear!

Last edited:
well, do you want to keep the motor stock and boost it or do you want to have a bigger engine with more power?