1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need audio help? Post here.

Discussion in 'Car Audio / Security / Electronic Accessories' started by jmanpc, Aug 18, 2008.

  1. jmanpc

    jmanpc Carless

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    While I may be useless when it comes to knowing stuff about Hondas, I do know a ton about audio. I've been an addict for 5 years, and am learning something new every day. I used to work as an installer, and have done several full installs myself.

    If you need sub/amp/speaker/head unit recommendations, hit me up- I always try to find the best bang for the buck.

    Here are some good companies I recommend:

    Subs: Fi, Audioque, Kicker, Mach 5 Audio, Sound Solutions Audio, RE Audio, Incriminator Audio, MB Quart

    Amps: Kicker, Sundown, Incriminator Audio, Audioque, USAmps, Hifonics (on a budget)

    Speakers: MB Quart, Pioneer, Phoenix Gold, Polk, Tang Band

    Head Units: Pioneer, Clarion, Kenwood, Eclipse

    LMK if I can help you in any way.
     
  2. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    Ok, I have a 100watt MTX amp, it keeps melting the 30amp fuse, melting it. It will blow it, but only after it has completely melted the plastic body of the fuse. What could be the cause of this?
     
  3. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    Heat????:p
     
  4. phoenix19l

    phoenix19l New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    charleston, sc
    either one... you have a serious grounding issue and possibly a short, or you have the wrong size fuse for the voltage or amperage. you might have a 6v fuse in there when you need a 12v fuse.
     
  5. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    Its a 12v 30amp fuse. My ground wire is a size or two smaller than my positive wire.
     
  6. phoenix19l

    phoenix19l New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    charleston, sc
    theres your problem. Your ground wire is too small. It has to be able to get rid of that excess power somewhere. thus, chassis ground. If that power doesnt have anywhere to go then it will take the path of least resistance. Your fuse, perse, is the path of least resistance. It will transfer the current into heat to dissipate the power. Ultimately get an equal size ground cable.
     
  7. caboose

    caboose USDM to the bone

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, MI
    Not exactly...

    I would upgrade the ground cable and see what happens.
     
  8. phoenix19l

    phoenix19l New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    charleston, sc
  9. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,483
    Likes Received:
    390
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    In addition to what was stated above, make sure your ground wire is relatively short. I mean, not like 16 freakin feet long. ~2-3 ft is usually a good length.

    The ground should always be as big or bigger than the power wire.
     
  10. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Its not "getting rid of excess power".. its completing the circuit. But yeah, they should at least be equal sizes. Too small / bad ground causes all kinds of issues.

    30 amps sounds a bit high for a 100 watt amp. Even bridged to 2 ohms you should only need a 20 amp. That could be causing the excessive heat issues before blowing.
     
  11. caboose

    caboose USDM to the bone

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, MI
    Not really... the fuse isn't the path of least resistance. The small ground just ads more resistance.

    Plus he isn't blowing fuses, he's melting them... meaning his amp is probably overheating.
     
  12. jmanpc

    jmanpc Carless

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Definitely make sure your power and ground wires are the correct size. I usually recommend nothing smaller than a 8awg kit for an amp that size. Make sure there are no shorts in your system, and your ground goes to solid, shiny metal (aka sand off the paint; it's an insulator):)

    Oh, and for the love of God, don't ever turn your gain to max. If it's not loud enough, you need a bigger amp and/or a bigger sub.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2008
    1 person likes this.
  13. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    It is, Ill have to get a bigger ground, and maybe drop to a 25 or 20 amp.

    I know how to tune my amp (feel the bass, not hear it) I hate when I get into my friends car and they have a 1000watt amp and two 12s and it bangs and all you can hear is bass. Then they say "Why does your system sound better?":D
     
  14. FLounder

    FLounder power hungry VIP

    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    north palm beach, FL
    how many amps fuse is best for 1000 watts? how many for 1200?
     
  15. phoenix19l

    phoenix19l New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    charleston, sc
    IMO, 30a-60a for 1000w. But it all depends on the current that the amp is pulling.
     
  16. jmanpc

    jmanpc Carless

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    I usually fuse to about the same amount the amp is fused for. My last 1000w amp was fused at 90A, so I put a 100A fuse on it.
     
  17. caboose

    caboose USDM to the bone

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, MI
    Hang on, are we talking about the inline fuse for the battery cable, or the fuse that actually goes into the amp.

    I think that every sub that I've seen has a 20A... or maybe a 30A in there.
     
  18. c-rex-beat

    c-rex-beat yeah, it's a vtec.

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Location:
    tyler, TX
    About what would some crossfire xt-2 12" go for? I hear they are some awesome spl woofers.
     
  19. jmanpc

    jmanpc Carless

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Not sure, I'm not a huge crossfire fan. Not saying they're not good subs, just never been deep into them.

    If you want some awesome SPL woofers, check out the Fi Car Audio BTL, the Digital Designs 9500, the AudioQue HDC3, the RE MT, DC Audio Level 5, Mach 5 SPL12, Sundown Audio Nightshade or the Incriminator Audio Death Penalty. All are incredible woofers.
     
  20. c-rex-beat

    c-rex-beat yeah, it's a vtec.

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Location:
    tyler, TX
    Was asking because I have one used and one brand new if anyone is interested. I am really familiar with crossfire. I had one in this crx ported box @3.15ft @48 htz doing 145.8 usaci stock. I now have a DD 9518g and doing same numbers with half the power tuned to 57 htz. I do a lot of SPL comps. It is rumored that Crossfire is now the makers of FI, well you know how all that B.S. works. And also, you forgot to mention the Atomic apocoplypse sub WITH FLAT WOUND COILS! 1 10" on 4800w 152.7dB in a crx!!!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page