1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need help fast. doing wire swap on d16a6

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by d16a6civichatch, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. d16a6civichatch

    d16a6civichatch New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    i have been doing a wire swap, a D16A6 to dx body and i got a D series wire harness and have followed fourth gen web site for help but i have a problem with two wires that come off of the tranny one is yellow and other is green with blue stripe, i cant tell were to connect these wires on my new harness:eek: do i need them ?? info please trying to get it finished tonight ) thanks
     
  2. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    can you get a picture? it sounds like it might be the reverse gear switch.
     
  3. d16a6civichatch

    d16a6civichatch New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    i dono if you can see the pictures i cant .....but its the only thing on my tranny and has just two wires. i have a d harness and modifying it to fit mpfi and just dono wear those wires connect to..
     
  4. t3t4delsol

    t3t4delsol New Member

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    York, Pa
    speed sensor, and if you want to be able to tell how fast your going you want to hook it up
     
  5. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    the speed sensor on a d16a6 is not electronic, its cable driven. no wires
    and if he had converted it to an electronic speed sensor it would be 3 wires (signal, acc, ground), not 2.

    after thinking about what my old Si tranny looked like, the only 2 wires on the transmission are for the reverse switch.
     
  6. d16a6civichatch

    d16a6civichatch New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    ok well were should i plug those two wires in at on my d15 wire harness ?
     
  7. d16a6civichatch

    d16a6civichatch New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
  8. d16a6civichatch

    d16a6civichatch New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
  9. 97hatch

    97hatch ?

    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Anderson IN
    that is your reverse light switch what kind of car is this in no mater what car it is in there should be a hook up for it. also you dont have to have it hooked up to drive the car you just wont have any reverse lights
     
  10. d16a6civichatch

    d16a6civichatch New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    it is a 1988 civic dx with a d16a6 non v-tech motor in it and i am doing the swap so i just got a d15 engine harness and im modifying it but there is no slot for those two wires....
     
  11. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    well they should be there.. look at this picture so you can find out where to search for them. they may have been hacked off possibly.

    [​IMG]
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page