1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Help Going V-tec!

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by KrUsHa, Mar 22, 2003.

  1. KrUsHa

    KrUsHa Senior Member

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Location:
    davie florida
    well i recently blew my motor in my 7thgen civic and its hard to find motors i had an lx (non v-tec) they want like 3000$ for a motor so i ran into a v-tec motor for the 7thgen for like 400$ with no problems and i was wondering to go v-tec do i have to get a new computer or wiring harness or whatever any help would be appreciated thanks
     
  2. Havok

    Havok Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    Ok, 1st things 1st--how in the hell did u blow a 3 year old motor? It should still be under warranty. 2nd, if you found a 7g Civic motor for 400, it's a.) not working b.) not a 7g, or c.) stolen. YOu could put a K20A2 in there (RSX Type S) but that would cost a lot more than 4k.
     
  3. Baker

    Baker Senior Member

    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Schaumburg, IL
    you can drop any b series in MUCH easier than a k20a
     
  4. KrUsHa

    KrUsHa Senior Member

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Location:
    davie florida
    lol first of all its hardly a year old the motor it has 8000 miles on it its a 2002 and im getting this motor from my uncles friend and it happens to be a v-tec so what will i need to change my car to vtec do i even need to get a new computer or anytthing?
     
  5. KrUsHa

    KrUsHa Senior Member

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Location:
    davie florida
    you cant drop a b series in they turn in a different way
     
  6. Baker

    Baker Senior Member

    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Schaumburg, IL

    I don't know thats just what I heard but I do know the K20A is a LOT of work and will cost you around $10,000
     
  7. omega11855

    omega11855 Senior Member

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    i hate people who talk that dont know yes you can drop a b-series in it spins the same way as the d17 the rsx motor spins the other way and also can go in.(honda tuning Hasport did it)
     
  8. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    How do you figure? :rolleyes:
     
  9. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    it is super easy to do you need to run 4 wires
     
  10. KrUsHa

    KrUsHa Senior Member

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Location:
    davie florida
    first of all you cant put a b serdies in it spins a different way i know ok ive looked into it so dont talk shit rsx and d16 spin the same way not d series :angry:
     
  11. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    Yes you will need a new ECU. Also, the ignition swich is weird on them (security issue), i belive you need to take the ignition switch out of where ever you get the ecu from (could also be the engine)

    I do not no alot about the 7th gen except a little about the SI so if I say something completely wrong, correct me. D and b series engines have the tranny on the passenger side of the car where as the K series (rsx, element, crv and SI engine) have the tranny on the right side. This means that they spin oppisite then the b and D. If someone put a k into a d series chassis, most likely they would have an engine with 5 gears of reverse and one really quick 1st gear. Unless they TOTALLY changed the d series for the 7th gen, you can still put a b series engine in there.
     
  12. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    no the civic hes talking about come with the k-series (correct me if im wrong).

    The civics with the b-series to k-series use k-series engine with the transmission it comes with. If you drop the b in with the k transmission youll notice the engine would be backwards, the vtec would be upsidedown!
     
  13. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    Yes i know you use the k series tranny but the mounting points are totally diffrent.

    About him with a K series in it, no, only the SI and the soon to be civic Type R have k Series. The rest are all d series.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page