1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with brake lights

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by MMorrisey7, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. MMorrisey7

    MMorrisey7 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    I drive a 93 Civic DX 5-spd coupe. None of my brakelights are coming on. Recently had a cd-player installed and not sure if any of the wiring would affect the brakes but also checked all the fuses and they are good. Could it be the switch under the brake pedal?
     
  2. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'd start with that switch.
     
  3. wikedeye

    wikedeye Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Location:
    Savannah, Ga.
    I just had the same exact problem two months ago...I pulled the switch and tested it with a multi tester and it worked fine. I put it back in and still had the same problem so I checked it with a test light and the switch was bad. It had an intermitent problem that the multi tester didnt pick up. Check it with a test light first. You can pick up the switch at autozone for like $11.
     
  4. EG93sir

    EG93sir Racer X 904

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    jacksonville fl
    start by getting a test light,go under the dash and check to see if you have power on one side of the switch,if so,push on the pedal to see if it lights up on bth sides,if not,replace the switch.keep posting on it and ill keep an eye out if more help is needed
     
  5. EG93sir

    EG93sir Racer X 904

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    jacksonville fl
    NOTE:beware of the switch adjustment,and the stop plate for the switch,theres a rubber stopper that dries out and falls out,I used a short 10mm nut and bolt to replace it
     
  6. MMorrisey7

    MMorrisey7 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    ok I will try these things tomorrow. we'll see what happens...I'm wondering though if there is even a possibility that some wiring from where the radio was put in could be doing it? I will keep u updated on the switch thing tomorrow.
     
  7. wikedeye

    wikedeye Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Location:
    Savannah, Ga.
    I dont think anything from the stereo would have any affect on the brakes. It is probably just a coincidence that your brake switch went bad after you installed the stereo.
     
  8. MMorrisey7

    MMorrisey7 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    I promise I will get to this, I had to fix a tire today. One thing at a time but I WILL post the results on the switch when I change it. Thank u for all ur input guys. Keep checking back, it will be done here in the next couple days.
     
  9. MMorrisey7

    MMorrisey7 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
  10. raysee

    raysee New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Location:
    Midwest
    sounds like ur car caught my cars disease....fix one thing so another can break syndrome. I am not any help, but I do empathize with you. Sorry to here it
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page