1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need help with my 1990 ef hatch with d15b8

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by hatck, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. hatck

    hatck New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    hi i have a 90 ef with a d15b8 motor and it has mpfi with a p05 ecu. when you get on it it falls on its face. has gas in the oil. so its getting too much fuel. could it be the wroung ecu or its a vtec with a non vtec head with the wroung ecu? plz help me:confused::confused::confused:
     
  2. hatck

    hatck New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    nice help yall
     
  3. hatck

    hatck New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    so no help wow what a friendly place
     
  4. hatck

    hatck New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    this forum is crap lol jk
     
  5. hatck

    hatck New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    can some help me out plz really need to know whats wroung with the car
     
  6. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    That's the right ECU; is it throwing any codes? Also, have you checked your TPS sensor?
     
  7. hatck

    hatck New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    dont know on codes. tps is brokin but fixed it. it has the mpfi in it. the guy i got it from said the guy he got it from did the mpfi swap on it so ya iam in the air on this....if i can get it to run right i will do a vtec head and wire the vtec in and then boost it.. if i cant fix it i will do a b16,b18 or a h22,h23 swap in it
     
  8. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Was the whole throttle body replaced or just the TPS? Either way, test the TPS to see if the open and close voltages are correct.

    Other things to check is the cam timing, ignition, IAT, O2, and MAP sensor. Though, it runs fine as long as it's not at WOT?
     
  9. hatck

    hatck New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    ya it runs fine tell wot. the oil has gas in it too.. its a d15b8 motor. whats the sencer on top of the throdal body?
     
  10. hatck

    hatck New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    i feel dum but whats IAT? and yes only the tps was replaced.
     
  11. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Sensor on top is MAP. Check the TPS and make sure its outputting the correct voltage.

    IAT is intake air temperature.
     
  12. hatck

    hatck New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    the on on top is not hooked up there is no plug for it
     
  13. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Is the OEM one hooked up? It may be on the firewall hooked up to the engine through a vacuum tube.
     
  14. hatck

    hatck New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    is it by the fuel filter?
     
  15. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Yes, it should be above the fuel filter.
     
  16. hatck

    hatck New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    ya its hooked up.
     
  17. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Did you test your TPS? It should be like .5v closed, 4.5v open.
     
  18. hatck

    hatck New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    i dont have a volt meter
     
  19. hatck

    hatck New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    should i v tec it and boost it? after i fix it or do a b serice swap?
     
  20. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    If you don't get it fixed, nope. If you don't have a voltmeter/multimeter, try to swap a known good TB or just buy a cheap multimeter(I think Harbor Frieght has them for like $5).

    B-series swap would depend on your own goals.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page