1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need help with venom chip

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by 97d16dx, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. 97d16dx

    97d16dx New Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    i just got a venom chip w/ the civic i bought and i was just wonderin if anyone has ever hooked one up if so do they work? help asap also i need help hooking up a tack.
     
  2. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    A chip with pre-programmed settings is nothing but bad news for Hondas. They're not like the Volkswagens where you can throw a Neuspeed chip in there and gain 30 horsepower. You want to be able to tune for your specific motor setup and modifications; a chip that comes with predetermined fuel and timing maps isn't going to let you do that. In fact, it might even end up hurting your engine in the long run.

    The best option for a Honda/Acura is to have your ECU chipped and tuned by a proffessional. If I were you, I'd try and sell the Venom stuff (assuming that it's not yet installed) and put that money towards some dyno time with an experienced tuner. Hell, even a VAFC would be a big improvement over a static performance chip...
     
  3. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    The venom chip sucks. I had one on my old civic si. All it does is trick the ecu into thinking the throttle is open more than it actually is, so it dumps more fuel in. It does absolutely nothing at wide open throttle. It makes you think your car has more power, but all it really does is waste gas.

    Wiring a tach is easy. Run the power wire to a 12 volt supply, the ground wire to duh, a ground source, and the light wire to a dash light power source. For the tach signal, you need to tap into a baby blue wire that is in one of the driver's side shocktower connector plugs under the hood.
     
  4. 97d16dx

    97d16dx New Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    thanks any ideas for a little more power into my civic, i'm on a budget til this summer til i turbo it also i think my car has a y8 head how hard is it to hook up the vtec solenoid?
     
  5. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you are going to go turbo, your best bet would be to save up until then. Bolt-ons such as an intake or a header is useless when you turbo. Furthermore, any ecu tuning when your car is n/a is also a waste because you need a totally different tune when you have forced induction.

    Get the vtec wired up! That will give you a nice increase. You need to run wires from the sensors on the soleniod to pins on the ecu. It's not that hard. You just need to do a little research as to which pins to connect into. Theres plenty on that here on this site.

    I'm assuming you have a y7 block with the y8 head. Which ecu are you running? Make sure you have the vtec ecu!
     
  6. 97d16dx

    97d16dx New Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    there is a solenoid on the back passenger side of the motor with one wire coming out of it and its unplugged is that the vtec solenoid
     
  7. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    if it is in front of the distributor, then yes, it is.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page