1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need new intake

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EW' started by MazdaAspec, Mar 12, 2008.

  1. MazdaAspec

    MazdaAspec /\ IDIOT ALERT /\

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    North Dakota
    This is a custom intake put on due to the old one sparking off the ECU unit. I need a new one that will give me better air flow for racing and hopfully wont spark off to the ECU. Where should I look for one and what brand should I go for??




    CS 5.JPG
     
  2. Celerity

    Celerity Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    21,969
    Likes Received:
    146
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Are you talking about the air filter pipe, or the intake manifold ?
     
  3. MazdaAspec

    MazdaAspec /\ IDIOT ALERT /\

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    North Dakota
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    how did an intake pipe do anything to the ECU??
     
  5. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
  6. MazdaAspec

    MazdaAspec /\ IDIOT ALERT /\

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    North Dakota
    I am guessing something was not grounded properly and was going to the intake pipe. Well the Inake pipe was touching the body of the car and must have been setting it off. As soon as we put the custom made one on, it no longer had that problem.
     
  7. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    ehh.. errrr.. uh.. still doesnt make much sense to me.. i've never heard of that happening, ever
     
  8. MazdaAspec

    MazdaAspec /\ IDIOT ALERT /\

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    North Dakota
    same here, but it worked which was the confusing part.
     
  9. MazdaAspec

    MazdaAspec /\ IDIOT ALERT /\

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    North Dakota
    I am trying my luck and buying a new one and hope it will not do it. Now I am just wondering on what to get.
     
  10. Celerity

    Celerity Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    21,969
    Likes Received:
    146
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    If you have a factory pipe, put it back on.

    These "Cold Air Intakes" do nothing for you.
     
  11. MazdaAspec

    MazdaAspec /\ IDIOT ALERT /\

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    North Dakota
    i sold the last one pipe
     
  12. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    FYI your dizzy bolts are loose. The intake tube is isolated by rubber.
     
  13. Civicsolidus

    Civicsolidus Fixer Upperer

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    OREGON

    mine was doing this because the cold air intake metal was touching the throttle body and the battery creating a circuit and sparking before i relocated my battery. but it looks like you've already moved your battery and its still doing this?

    how do you have your possitive cables hooked up? if you have your power or battery cables touching the intake pipe and grounding then it will spark.
     
  14. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    From the pics it looks like a 4th gen not a 3rd, just get an intake for a DA 91-93 Integra off of ebay and cut it to work thats what I did.^_^
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2008
  15. domorex86

    domorex86 New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    i made an intake out of the stock pipe. i had to cut the stock pipe to where that outlet goes to the valve cover. but i put a filter on there, bought a flex pipe and drilled it to the filter. it flows really well. there is a hole where the stock intake use to be and thas where i mounted the flex pipe to get cold air.
     
  16. MazdaAspec

    MazdaAspec /\ IDIOT ALERT /\

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    North Dakota

    I know I was putting new cap and rotor on along with 9mm wires.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    yaa if it was sparking i'd do some further detective work.

    as an example:
    buddy of mine had hesitation on hard accel. took it to a shop. paid 180 bucks to replace his spark plug wires and was told they were shot. 2 days later, it was doing the same thing. the shop didnt ask themselves the question as to why they went bad. they just replaced them and called it a day. i had him take it to my mechanic that did my engine swap the second time, and he verified there was a further cause, a leaking valve cover gasket around the spark plug wells, leaking oil, causing the wires to ground out and short.

    gooood luck!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page