Need opinions about a work option. I know, I know.

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

SlushboxTeggy

It's only stupid if it doesn't work
VIP
I'd say its common knowledge that I dislike my job. However, as much as I complain I also pursue options to get out of it. I emailed a higher up about an office position and at the moment nothing is open.

Well for the past month or so I have been observing the advertising we sell along the system, at station stops and such. I have a degree in this stuff. It interests me and I know how to do it. At the moment it is contracted out to a huge company, Titan Worldwide.

To put it politely, our contract is being mismanaged. To not be nice, they are doing a shitty ass job. A sophomore advertising major could do better. Ad space sits unused for months or ads sit for months long after the contract is up. How do I know this? I see the blank space where ads should be, and I see ads for movies(at the moment 3) that came out months ago. Two of those movies are already on DVD. Movies that came out in November, don't pay for ad space in March.

A single office employee doing this with knowledge of the system would not only do a better job, but also cost the company less. Contracting companies usually take about 50% of the profit. A single employee usually receives a small salary and 15%. And with my company being my only client and source of extra income(commission), you would be damn sure I would fill every possible spot. With plans to eventually do something like this... The Detroit People Mover - Exterior Train Wraps