Need some more power out of my D15

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Status
Not open for further replies.

raceitall

Okay I guess I need to start by saying I am totally new to the whole Honda scene, I have many friends who have modified theres but I am new to working on them and modding them for myself. I just picked up my brothers wrecked 89 hatch and he is pulling his ZC swap out to sell to a friend who has a D15 motor. What I am doing is I am going to use the motor and tranny we take out of the D15 hatch and put it in my brothers wrecked hatch to go and race at the local short track this year. Now I know there are many things you can do to a honda motor by switching out parts from one to the other so I need to know what I can swap over from any of the other D motors to my D15 to make some real extra HP. I guess i need to know can I do the mini swap onto a d15? or is there a better route?? I need to make this as fast as possible but not go to over board with it so I dont get teched with a motor tear down.

I guess really all I need to know is what is the best way to make my D15 go alittle bit faster.

Thanks Guys for any advice you can give me

I will be more specific for ya bro...d16z6 head d16z6 comes from a 94-96 civic ex or the sohc vtec civic del sols. I think 94-97. also d16y8 cam gear, intake manifold which comes in the 96+ civic ex. obd1 conversion harness, p28 ecu with greddy chip. (again years are estimates) hmmm plus you could go cold air intake, dc header, and full exhaust. That will up your power a lot over just the stock motor. Also the cost will probably be overall pretty cheap if you pull the parts and do the work yourself as far as the parts off of the cars and motors I listed.