1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need some serious help

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by 2006crxtuner, Oct 15, 2007.

  1. 2006crxtuner

    2006crxtuner New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    so i have a jdm b16a swap in my crx and the swap runs great, except for the fact that i cant get my speedo cable to stay in. when i get it in the right spot, itll work for a bit but then when i get up to around 50 mph it slips out again. does anyone have any ideas or tricks on ways that i can make sure it stays in? please anything
     
  2. 91_civic_si

    91_civic_si New Member

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Wasilla, Alaska
    Are you running the cable under the heater hoses or above them?
     
  3. norcalgsr

    norcalgsr Honda Master Technician

    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    On my Prelude there is a clip that holds the cable onto the speed sensor.. I would assume it would be the same on your transmission. When I didn't have the clip on there it would pop out every couple weeks like yours is doing.. check for that and if you don't have one post back & I'll see if I can find it in the service manuals for ya...
     
  4. 2006crxtuner

    2006crxtuner New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    nah i dont have a clip for it or anything like that, atleast not on mine. and where did the clip go on your car? also imma check to see on how its runnin through those hoses.
     
  5. norcalgsr

    norcalgsr Honda Master Technician

    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    The clip on mine goes on the end of the cable on the transmission side at the connection to the speed sensor..
     
  6. 2006crxtuner

    2006crxtuner New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    i wonder if mine is suppose is to have it?
     
  7. norcalgsr

    norcalgsr Honda Master Technician

    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    I have a feeling it might, but I don't have any references that go back that far. I can take a look at my friend's transmission and see how we hooked it up (obd0 b16 cable tranny) but it might take a couple days..
     
  8. 91_civic_si

    91_civic_si New Member

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Wasilla, Alaska
    On my jdm y1 tranny it had an electronic speed sensor. I unbolted the electronics and shoved the cable in it. It has no place for a clip because it was electric. I have had no problems with it popping out.
     
  9. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Yes, your tranny has that clip. It's like a little horseshoe style clip. If you notice at the end of your speedo cable on the metal part there is a notch that the pin slides through, and there is also two notches on the tranny.

    Go steal one of a Honda in the junkyard, I think they are all the same. If not, I'm pretty sure I have one that I could send you for a small fee. lol
     
  10. 91_civic_si

    91_civic_si New Member

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Wasilla, Alaska
    His might, my tranny was electric and I took the top half off. It does not have the clip or the spot for the clip on the vss. If his is like mine then it does not have the clip.
     
  11. 2006crxtuner

    2006crxtuner New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    yea i dont see a spot for it, does anyone know even if honda carries it?
     
  12. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    If not, then grab a hose clamp and see if you can get it to hold like that.
     
  13. 91_civic_si

    91_civic_si New Member

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Wasilla, Alaska
    Are you using the honda factory cable or an off brand?
     
  14. 2006crxtuner

    2006crxtuner New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    im using the original one that my car came with, so im guessing its factory.
     
  15. 91_civic_si

    91_civic_si New Member

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Wasilla, Alaska
    Sorry, I just dont see how it is falling out, maybe you have some slack up in your dash somewhere you could pull through. Your cable could even be damaged somewhere inside. If you want to get another vss that has the clip holder then that could solve it also. Sorry I ant be more helpful.
     
  16. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,402
    Likes Received:
    626
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    ok, if your tranny was digi, then the cable wont work. i tried that with mine. it will just keep spitting it out. there is a way to convert the tranny to analog but i found it better to just take advantage of the situation and swap the gauge cluster. then you get an upgrade and a speedo. but good luck though.
     
  17. 91_civic_si

    91_civic_si New Member

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Wasilla, Alaska
    Mine was electric and it works. Just unbolted the top and put in the cable, only problem was when I got a cable from NAPA, it was like a foot longer than the stock Honda one. My guess would be to replace the cable and make sure nothing is hitting it up in the dash.
     
  18. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,402
    Likes Received:
    626
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    i doubt it will work.
    if it does then congrats.
    but i doubt it.
    if the speedo worked fine before the swap then theres no reason for anything to be messed up at the gauge cluster. unless you decided to give it a nice hard pull.
     
  19. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    Just get a speed sensor from a 90-91 Integra. Done.
     
  20. 2006crxtuner

    2006crxtuner New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    :confused:what do you mean get the speed sensor from there? do you mean just the cable or what?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page