New 5th Gen Civic Hatch

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Mr90Civic

Alright guys, Im new at this whole car dealy. I just bought a 90 civic cx hatch and i wanna get some good horsepower.I wanna get a new engine (prolly a DOHC ZC) and i wanna get a cool air intake. What else should i put in it to give it some extra horses???

Its a 4th Gen not a 5th gen. COLD air intake instead of cool air intake. Get a header and a free flowing exhaust system as well. If this is your first car, learn to drive before doing any BIG horsepower moves. Just get an intake, header and exhaust and that should keep you happy for a while. Good luck with the hatch :thumbsup:

90 model is 4th gen!
give us some more info on how much you want to spend and what your gonna be doing with the car, is it a daily driver, are you gonna drag race, auto-x??????
but the zc engine is a really fun engine and has plenty of go just as it is, i think it would be a good choice! but there is more aftermarket support for the ex motor(d16z6) and it is easier to find(i think)!

Well it is my first car, but i have driving experience with some fast cars. how much do u think all of this will set me back???

Well heres the deal. I am willing to spend however much money i need to, to give me around 170-190 hp. I will be driving the car everyday + some racing here and there. Im hearing some good things about the ZC, its cheap,easy to install,reliable, and is 130 hp. a cold air intake will gimme what?? about 15 hp?? and that will set me back about $100?? Anyways thanks for the post

Come on people lol it cant be that hard to make some posts!!

you'd be lucky to get 5 hp off an intake, off the whole IHE you'd be lucky to get 15. If your looking to have 170-190 whp your looking in the wrong places, look into Forced induction, that will get u up there.