New guy here

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

enixu4

I got a tech friend working at honda and he's been getting me into cars lately. I just recently (last year) bought a 94 civic ex (manual 5spd, 109-115hp, 1.6L, 109lbs @ 6500redline) that has a low 14k miles on it for $7,000. I know its a bit high but I just needed a reliable car for now. Also the car is practically brand new, all the interior is just about flawless.
I have recently changed my master and slave clutch cylinders and my cv jonits, I know I have to change my timing belt and any other rubber related part in the car due to rubber becoming brittle over time. If I were to do any mods to my car I was thinking to get an engine first. The engine that comes to mind is a Prelude H22A1, I'm told I have to buy a specific mount/adapter for my car but seeing that I'm new to cars I have no clue. I'm not sure if I should do that or buy intakes, exhaust etc first. Installation wise my friend at honda can teach me that, its just that he works during the times I'm off work so its hard to contact each other. ANY kind of designs I do to this car will be last. I'm serious about learning about cars now, so if anyone could help on pointers or point me in a direction(books/mag/websites/etc) to learn I'll be commited. Driving wise I've been practicing for over a year now so I know how the stock civic I have can corner etc. I'm tired of driving an 18sec car!!!!!

welcome

is this car just your daily driver? are you planning to do any kind of racing i.e. drag or autox/road course?

daily driver the h22a from a prelude is great. the money you spend on the engine is well spent compared to the bolt ons (intake, exhaust, etc).

you'll need to buy a bolt in kit for the h22a to fit though.

computer...shutting down...prc...noooooooooooooo