1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Head Bolts Needed?

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by D See 2, Apr 28, 2003.

  1. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    do i NEED to replace the head bolts on a jdm b16a? or can they be re-used?
     
  2. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    You can re use them, but every time you unthread or rethread them you could do damage to the threads in the block.
     
  3. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
    yea, just minimize your use of em, and you should be set.
     
  4. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    i looked in the manual and called honda and they said its not necessary but they reccomend it. of course they fucking recommend it because then they sell you a product and make money that is un-necessary. but the manual says nothing about replacing head bolts and it seems to make it very clear in other situations where things need to be replaced.
     
  5. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    I you plan on removing the head a lot, then you should get some ARP studs. If this is 1 of 2 or 3 times that you are going to remove the head then your old bolts should be fine.
     
  6. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    thx for the posts guys...
     
  7. proformance

    proformance Junior Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    i would replace them, just to be on the safe side. head bolts are supposed to be one time use things, because they are streached when put on, and do not return to their original state after use. if this is the first time that you have taken off your head, it would be "ok" to reuse them, but dont do it again.
     
  8. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    i would definately replace them, the oem head bolts from honda are strech bolts. when i replaced my head gasket we were re-torquing the head bolts and one snapped at 20 ft lbs at where the threads end on the bolt... the thread was stuck 1" into the block, i had to call someone to come back it out, not fun! i have since put ARP in there.
     
  9. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    arp OWNZ. i just put my rod bolts in today.. and tuesday the head studs go in
     
  10. Rocketir

    Rocketir Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Replace them. Stretch bolts fatigue after you use them once. The same torque on them will not equal the same amount of clamping force.
    Jes
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page