1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new here- engine swap

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by jaylo, Dec 22, 2006.

  1. jaylo

    jaylo New Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    hey what's up just wanted to introduce myself, my wife bought me my first honda 92 civic dx hb with d15b7. Am wanting to switch out the engine for either same engine less miles or better engine. Am doing all the work myself but have never done engine swap so should be interesting. Gotta learn sometime. Any advice anybody has on this would be awesome.
     
  2. jaylo

    jaylo New Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    can you tell me what wiring I will need to do, I am not a great mechanic but got a chiltons and have been researching everything online. Thanks in advance
     
  3. igotnothin

    igotnothin New Member

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    harford co MD
    if you are doing an engine swap, dont waste your time with the D series, get a b16 or even an ls or gsr motor, trany... the ls motor, would be a pretty simple drop in and you wont have to wire for vtack. will give you a larger displacment engine, and will also respond beter to any performance add on's you decide to do.
     
  4. hatch95

    hatch95 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    newbie

    wussup :cool: im new here i don't know much about cars i just know alittle about alittle and know how to do most basic things to cars. i own a 95 honda civic hatch. i want to swap my engine but not sure which way to go. all my exterior is taken care of already .. and does anyone know where i can get leather integra seats
     
  5. taternuts

    taternuts Lost Soul

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Just drop a H22 a run!!

    I reinstalling my H22 from one crx to another using Hasport mounts. The wiring is easier these days, theres a couple of companys for a harness to keep you sane. Honestly it comes down to cash, what do you want to spend? I mean four grand on a good turbo kit blowing a sohc 1.5 can be impressive. Just don't go over your head, and have someone cleanup your mess. The more common the swap, the cheaper and more info you'll be able to gather. Good luck on what you do, and don't worry what everyone else has.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. jaylo

    jaylo New Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    obviously you can't read because if you read the start of this thread I said I am not a mechanic, this is my first start, and I am trying to make this as easy as possible. I am not worried about the performance, I am more into the looks of the car.
     
  7. jaylo

    jaylo New Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006

    Will I be able to use all of my same components such as alternator, ps pump, ac pump? Also will I be able to use my same transmission, it's an automatic but not sure how to switch to manual so it will have to do for now.
     
  8. igotnothin

    igotnothin New Member

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    harford co MD

    if your not worried about power why bother swap. are you fucking retarded. why do a dseries, when a ls motor will drop in useing stock mounts, will use the same wire harness if you get an obd1 engine, (with a few exceptions), and will give you more tq and hp than any of the D series. basicaly the same as a stock swap. it dosent take a machnic to do it, the whole swap, last time i was in the market for an engine, was 1500, ecu, axles, trany, harness, mounts bla bla bla. Not to mention give you a building block for 300 whp if you decide to turbo in the future.

    so i read your post you just need to do a little research
     
  9. igotnothin

    igotnothin New Member

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    harford co MD

    your auto trany will bolt right up, as well as the psp, alternator, and what not.
     
  10. jaylo

    jaylo New Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    yeah I understand what you saying, I am trying to research that is why I am asking all the questions, thanks for the info though, I guess I am just second guessing myself on doing something more than what I got in my head. What is a obd1 engine not sure what that means, I know I sound stupid asking these questions but how else can I learn. Thanks again
     
  11. jaylo

    jaylo New Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    thanks you all are making this easier on me to do.

    Oh one more, will I have to change my ECU or can I use the one that is in there.
     
  12. igotnothin

    igotnothin New Member

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    harford co MD
    asking questions and research, are the only things iv used to learn, and i know a little now lol.

    but if you go with the si engine, it will be vtack, so you will need the ecu off of that motor so that it will engage, and i thing ignition and fuel tables are difrent. you could get a chiped ecu, and have it tuned, or get a base map for your engine. this can be cheaper sometimes than trying to find the right ecu to go with your engine, if you didnt get it with the motor. chiped ecu, will also alow you to controle when vtack engages, as well as revlimiter, and speed limiter. not that you want to rev much past the redline on a stock engine. check out xenocron.com or pgmfi.org. they have a ton of infor on chiping an ecu. its just another option, that imo is a little better than a stock ecu.

    and Obd is on board diagnostic. obd0 is 1992 and below obd1 is 1992-1995 in a civic and obd2 is 1996- +

    You should do a little research on it, cause i got to run, and dont have time now to explain. read up and youll understand.. good luck.. keep asking Q, and research research research
     
  13. igotnothin

    igotnothin New Member

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    harford co MD
    im not on a band wagon, but to swap in a dseries, when it sounds as if he wants to keep na for now, would be stupid imo. i understand that 400 hp is posible but not just on vateras. thats shit.. you need sleves, rods, would be nice to do some valve work. its not just pistons and boost. not to mention, that having 300 hp on a 1.8B and 300 on a 1.6 Dseries, the b series will be more reliabel, cause it will take less boost to make it. And do not go in to the its all in the tune, cause i know a tune makes or breaks a build.

    im not bashing d series, and i know great #s have been hit on them, but it dose not mean that if you use bseries you are a band wagon fagot, or if you are on d series you are a dumb cunt :rolleyes: . lol jk..

    its all in what you want to do. i say do ls b18b. learn about turbos, and put 300 down on the stock block. but read up and do what you want.:cool:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page