1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NEW HERE!!-need help with tuning!!

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by loops, Oct 3, 2008.

  1. loops

    loops New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Doing a B16A into a 1990 Civic Si. The B16 is a OBD 0 sir 1. It has had the following changes:

    Block has been bored .010"
    CP pistons (10.5-1 comp)
    Eagle rods
    Head and block have been decked, comp should be around 11.0-1
    Mild port job on head,
    5 angle valve grind
    Brian crower stage 2 cams, valve springs and retainers.
    Adjustable cam gears
    Cold air intake
    2.5" mandrel bent exhaust with Magnaflow.

    Thanks for hanging in there so far, here is my question;

    What tuning will I need to do with this set up? I have a Walbro 255 pump, will just increasing fuel pressure be enough? Do I need a standalone EFI system (hondata) or a VAFC? I have a wideband a/f sensor so i'll be able to see if its running lean. I haven't run the car yet, I wanted some help with the tuning before I start it up. Its a mild setup, I hope I can get away with just a fuel pressure increase but ANY help would be appreciated.

    Thank you for looking.
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    maybe a hondata s300 then have it dyno tuned . vafc are junk
     
  3. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    yea.. Hondata.. but if you're too poor for it (most are).. use Crome
     
  4. loops

    loops New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    I really appreciate the input guys, thank you. What I really want to know is if with the setup that I have can I get away with just raising the fuel pressure or do I have to buy the Hondata system. I don't have a problem spending the money, but, do I really need to. I figured my setup was pretty mild and my local speed shop said all I would need was a better fuel pump (i don't have alot of faith in my local speed shop). I really don;t want to dammage the engine by running it lean. How far do i need to go with this setup? thx.
     
  5. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    like eg said you could use crome its perty much free. and that 255 fuel pump should be fine
     
  6. loops

    loops New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Can I use crome with a obd 0 ecm? Where do I buy the hardware?
     
  7. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i'm pretty sure you can.. but obd1 is easier
    get crome here
    < C R O M E >
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page