New 'lude

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

I just bought a 93 prelude with an apex 1 cat back exhuast and a cheap ass short ram intake, with some 16's on it they look cheap also... but it is a dohc vtec... I'm assuming it is an H22A....? Not sure I'm new at the h series/prelude stuff. I was just wondering the 1/4 mile times of basically stock preludes. Thanks guy just wanting to know about how fast I should expect this car... sorry to ask this question I know it is a pain in the ass... but it is a basically stock car so anybody have times for a stock prelude?

Yeah, but I'm anal, so it's actually an H22A1 you have in there. :) 190 horses, 158 ft-lbs of torque.

Not really sure on stock 1/4 mile times.

Ok, thanks guys.... what are some mods that would really open this engine up? I plan on rebuilding it really soon... followed by a header and a high flow cat... what direction should I go after that?

need to be a lil' more specific than that. How deep you plan on getting into this? Street, strip, track? How much $$$ you willing to spend?

Btw, I heard they run low 15's in stock form.

I have a 95 h22 lude, cheap short ram, cheap universal muffler, stock 15in wheels with cheap tires and centerforce dual friction clutch(only mod i have done since getting the car is the clutch) ran 14.9 @ 94, 15.1 @ 91 and 15.3 @ 92. I cant really complain.

thats average with such a heavy lude. I recently purchased 92, and vtec wasnt introduced to the ludes until 93 (atleast in the U>S) so i'm stuck with the h23. pulls like a sunobitch, but lacks the goodstuff. the lude is a heavy car, and its quite difficult to get real low times without the assistance of forced induction.

well one thing you guys over looked is that its a '93, i'm pretty sure the first year for the h22's is '94. so there for you have an h23, if not a f23

Nope nope nope.

1992 was the first year for the 4th-gen Preludes.