1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new microsoft spyware tool

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by pissedoffsol, Jan 7, 2005.

  1. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    welp, just ran a scan here at work... and i'm not remotely impressed.

    it picked up several of my remote control applications as being spyware: TightVNC and Dameware

    That, and it didn't pick up what it should have...

    IMO, stick with adaware. this shit is wack.
     
  3. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    Adaware did wonders for my home machine after my GF severely screwed up my machine with spyware and hidden shit.
     
  4. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    Adaware + Spybot = teh win.
     
  5. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC

    :werd:
     
  6. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Firefox to win the battle. Linux to win the war.
     
  7. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    we used to use dameware at my old work. kinda nifty. what is tight vnc? like secure vnc or something?
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    its like dameware, only slower.

    but its lighter, so we use it more. they have a real low compression method which makes it good for hitting machines in other offices/states. so it looks like shit, buts its enough for me to look and see whats up down there.

    either way, the spyware tool picked it up as being spyware. hardly.
     
  9. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT

    :ph34r:
     
  10. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    spybot fucked my computer over. it removed something from the registry at some point and I was unable to log into my computer without repairing the windows installation
     
  11. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....


    ditto
     
  12. spectacle

    spectacle Senior Member

    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    St. Petersburg, Fl
    the air force banned dameware past all firewalls because of "security holes". they want us to use teminal services/remote desktop for all client to server connections

    what do they plan to use for client to client connections? fucking PC Anywhere

    Bunch of fucking idiots.
     
  13. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    lol

    we only use dameware across our virtual wan, so its pretty secure.
     
  14. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    at my new work all we use is terminal services/rdp to access all our test servers
     
  15. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    we terminal into our servers that are on the other side of our DMZ, such as our two external webservers. but for on the lan machines on the same side fo trhe hardware firewall and dmz, there's really no secuirty issues.
     
  16. allmotord16rex

    allmotord16rex Senior Member

    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    For a really effective spyware scan I use the bootable Bart PE CD with Adaware installed on it so it can scan without the OS running. I really recommend it to the other tech support people here.Bart PE
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page