New phone, what can I do to it?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

xj0hnx

I wanna be sedated
VIP
So being a tinkerer I can't just leave anything well enough alone. I've had an iPhone for a while now, and just today got a new Pantech Burst Android phone. It's running 2.3.5 Ice Cream Sandwich. I used Cydia alot to customize the iPhone, and now get to start all over. What can I do with this Android stuff? Does it have lots of third party shit like iPhone? I know there's the Market, but is there anything else? Theming? Ringtones? Other apps?

Yea, yea, I know, n0ob

Theres way more customization for Android phones, as someone new to Android you should go here and read as much as you can!
Pantech Burst - Android Forums

I'm no expert but I have installed custom ROMs on my phone and so I can at least answer some questions. It looks like your phone isnt supported very widely so i dont know if you'll be able to change much

Theres way more customization for Android phones, as someone new to Android you should go here and read as much as you can!
Pantech Burst - Android Forums

I'm no expert but I have installed custom ROMs on my phone and so I can at least answer some questions. It looks like your phone isnt supported very widely so i dont know if you'll be able to change much

Awesome, thanks!

Check out XDA Developers. Tons of info there.

O cool, I used them to mod my wifes 2.2 tablet

Nice. Now, what's the object of rooting a device? Absolute control? like jailbreaking an iPhone?

I guess its about the same, although im not sure since ive never had an iphone... but rooting your phone will let you do a ton more with it, like modifying system file which would other wise be hidden in your file explorer. theres alot of stuff you can do though, thats just one example

rooting is similar to jail breaking yes. in linux terms, rooting lets you run stuff as 'su'

Ok, so I am not quite getting this part ...