1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New project/dailydriver 1993 Accord lx 5spd

Discussion in 'Accord' started by jessemxt, Aug 11, 2007.

  1. jessemxt

    jessemxt New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Location:
    Hawaii/Maui
    Hey fellas and ladies? I just bought a 1993 accord lx 5spd for 1340.00 it runs really good it has a new waterpump and timing belt. It has 184000 miles. I have a small oil leak and the tachometer doesnt work. But I feel I got a good deal. I am looking into a h22 swap in the near future. (I already searched the forums) Being a noob I wanted some ideas and are oil leaks common on this car? Also the tach I think there was a aftermarket tach on before I got the car maybe a wire is loose? Thanks Jesse
     
  2. boostedf22

    boostedf22 dis is why im not

    Messages:
    1,581
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    in the land of OZ
    H22 swap is pretty striaght forward in a 4th gen .

    Can you tell where the oil is leaking from ? 184k miles and if the car wasnt fully maintained then yeah , any motor can leak . The front main seal will leak over a period of time and only get worse. It could be a cam seal, head gasket, ect. Even the sending unit. Hard to tell where its coming from ? Just gotta look. What I do is , Take a can of brake cleaner and spray the engine off , blow it dry with air and watch the area over the next few miles and locate where its leaking .

    The speed sensor could be bad , or the cluster could need to be replaced. The plug on the wiring harness going to the speed sensor can get corrosion on it and cause it now to function . Before I replaced anything I would check to see if voltage was going to and coming out of the speed sensor. Then see if the cluster was recieving the signal .
     
  3. jessemxt

    jessemxt New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Location:
    Hawaii/Maui
    hey thanks for the info I will check those things out I need to get a repair manual so I know the different sensors do you unhook any thing when you install a aftermarket tach?
     
  4. boostedf22

    boostedf22 dis is why im not

    Messages:
    1,581
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    in the land of OZ
    The tach only has 2 wires , One going to the blue wire on the Distributor , one going to the lights , and theres a ground , plus a 12v . No sensors are needed for a tach to work .

    Are you saying tach as in Speedometer OR Rpm gauge ?
     
  5. jessemxt

    jessemxt New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Location:
    Hawaii/Maui
    I am saying tach as in tachometer or (rpm gauge)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page