1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new to turbo

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by mck26, Mar 16, 2004.

1. mck26

mck26 Junior Member

im new to turbo so i just have a few questions before i do what i plan on doing. I want to turbo my B16 motor. i plan on using stock rods with ARP rod bolts and GSR pistons that would yield a 9:1 CR in a B16. also keeping the head stock and the stock redline of 8200 rpm. is this enough strength down the bottom end for a daily driver of 6, 7, or 8 psi? also my only fuel upgrades was going to be a 12:1 FMU and 280cc injectors instead of the 240 stocks. is this adequate because i dont plan on boosting more in the near future? also would an exedy stage 1 clutch be enough holding power for this power of roughly 230 flywheel?
    my turbo setup is going to be a custom pieced together setup of T3 turbo and the rest of the parts just letting you know.

2. NotUrAverage_Si

NotUrAverage_Si Senior Member

GSR pistons in a b16 will yield a 9:1 compression ratio? I've never heard that.

3. pissedoffsol

pissedoffsol RETIRED

gsr pistons in a b16 will drop you to 8.75:1(usdm) or 9.2:1 (jdm)
    8.7 is way to freakin low if you want to have any fun.
    if you run the 280's, make sure you get a FPR to tune them down a hair

4. NotUrAverage_Si

well you learn something new everyday. :)

5. mck26

mck26 Junior Member

so are you saying i should just leave the stock 240s in there. i do have a fpr anyway but just asking. also what about the bottom end strength and the clutch holding power? thanks

6. Citizen_Insane

Citizen_Insane Senior Member

you should be able to run a lot more than 8psi on a b16 with 9.2:1 comp. I have heard many times here that you can run 7-9psi on a STOCK b16....with 10.2:1 comp.

7. NotUrAverage_Si

the motor won't last long without proper tuning.

8. pissedoffsol

pissedoffsol RETIRED

its all in the tuning.