1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new TV....

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by GSRCRXsi, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
  2. George777

    George777 ^^ Likes Bewbies

    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    With your mom
    Didn't work out of the box? Or it's just some of the features being stubborn?
     
  3. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    did you put the batteries in the remote? :ph34r:
     
  4. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    yes, but i was trying the power button on the tv. its DOA.
     
  5. Aleaf.CRX

    Aleaf.CRX Hates Cunts!

    Messages:
    2,025
    Likes Received:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    That always pisses me off when shit like that happens.

    Luck.
     
  6. George777

    George777 ^^ Likes Bewbies

    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    With your mom
    Is it throwing any codes?
     
  7. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    im not sure if thats serious or not, but its not doing anything. no lights no beeps, nothing.
     
  8. George777

    George777 ^^ Likes Bewbies

    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    With your mom
    It was sarcastic... Should have put this in :ph34r:...
     
  9. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    apparently you arent sarcasic. panasonics will flash codes. lol.

    but i took it back to the store, and they hooked it up, it worked fine, WTF! so i took it home and now it works lol.
     
  10. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Bought mine a couple years ago from BB for around $1300, they must have dropped in price.


    We originally got a 32", but took it back and got a 42" Westinghouse because we liked the widescreen so much.
     
  11. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    oh yes, its nice. i dont have anything HD, but im impressed by the SD so far lol. DVD's look nice.

    ill probably have to write a modeline so i can get mythtv hooked up in 1080p :). only issue im having is that the tv has 3 HDMI ports, but none of them have a separate audio input with it, so DVI->HDMI isnt an option :( so i have to go through the PC VGA input.
     
  12. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Ya, everything looks better on an HD TV, wait until you get Blu-Ray. :)
     
  13. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    dvi-hdmi is an option, so long as you have a receiver with hdmi switching :)

    use the receiver as your 'brain'. The only ting that should end up in the tv is the power cord, and the hdmi from the receiver to the tv. that's it. everything else, plug in the receiver.
     
  14. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    im not dropping another 500+ on a good reciever. for now its all going to the TV. in the future i probably will do that though. also ill have to read through the manual so i can see what res all the different inputs are capable of.
     
  15. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    damn jealous. you be getting all the good shit.

    still rocking a 84' GE 37". I love magnetized purple screens.

    btw, are the 4 yr warranties worth it? general consensus is dont buy warranty from stores, but it seems like 200 is cheap insurance against 1000+ lost.
     
  16. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    i NEVER buy warranties. ever.

    half the time, they don't cover what broke, or at least not in full... and by the time it breaks, it's not even worth the money to repair (or the 4 weeks of not having a tv....).
     
  17. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    well its not really a warranty. its a service plan. so if shit breaks, it gets fixed, not replaced. to me its worth it. in 4 years if anything happens short of me dropping it or spraying it with water, itll be fixed. but yeah it sucks being out the tv for 2-4 weeks. this is just my experience with BB, i ship stuff out everyday.

    but good news, i flipped through the manual. i can pair pretty much any of the audio inputs with any HDMI port. sweet :) guess im gonna pick up a DVI->HDMI cable tomorrow.
     
  18. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,278
    Likes Received:
    498
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    Lol. Do you know the markup on those "Electronics Protection Plans"?
     
  19. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    considering i work there, yea i know. any kind of plan is 100% profit until the company has to honor it.
     
  20. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    sweet, 99 dollar DVI->HDMI cable for 9 bucks. we're in business now. it still wasnt loading up in 1080p so i had to reinstall mythbuntu. everything loaded up in 1080p by default this time :)

    ill see if i can get some pics of the setup.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page