Newbie Here That Needs Some Advice...

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

LordVader

Hey guys. My son (soon to be 16) has a 92 Civic hatchback that's completely stock. For obvious reasons he wants to go with aftermarket wheels and tires. After doing a visual check of possibly how big he go with out creating any problems, it appeared to me that he doesn't have too many options. I'm sure someone on the forum has gone through this and I was looking for some advice on what will/will not work as far as size goes/recommended backspacing, etc.

Thanks in advance guys!

You can probably fit 18 inch wheels under that car, but it is not worth it. As the tires will rub the fender wells. I say get some nice 15 inch wheels, as they will be cheaper than 17s or 18s, get a good tire set up like the Yokohama AVS ES 100, or the Kumho MX. The reason I say 15 inch wheels, is that they are light, and come in much better sizes for a honda than say 16s or 17s. The only reason I can think of to get 16s or 17s is if you have an upgraded brake kit that a 15 inch wheel will not clear.

Originally posted by MaaseyRacer@Sep 7 2004, 12:20 PM
You can probably fit 18 inch wheels under that car, but it is not worth it. As the tires will rub the fender wells. I say get some nice 15 inch wheels, as they will be cheaper than 17s or 18s, get a good tire set up like the Yokohama AVS ES 100, or the Kumho MX. The reason I say 15 inch wheels, is that they are light, and come in much better sizes for a honda than say 16s or 17s. The only reason I can think of to get 16s or 17s is if you have an upgraded brake kit that a 15 inch wheel will not clear.
[post=386930]Quoted post[/post]​

Thanks, Massey. My main concern is clearance (the money is HIS problem lol) He said something about 17"s but I just don't see that happening. Any opions about 17's? What width would you recommend?