1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie question..

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by freakie, Jan 16, 2005.

  1. freakie

    freakie Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    I have tried to search for a particular answer, but I havent found what im looking for.

    If there is actually information that I could have found on a search I apologise in advance.

    My question refers to a b18c5 being swapped into an EG d16a chassis 1992 model.

    Being odb1 with the d16a, Im abit lost as to how to overcome the swap when it comes to wiring in the ecu for the odb2 engine. Can this be over come? does anyone have a pic by pic matrix of how this can be done? Im actually willing topay for intellectual help :)

    Regards
     
  2. VTEC_CBR

    VTEC_CBR Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    there are made obd2-obd1 harnesses, and so i assume there are also made obd1-obd2 harnesses. i'm not sure where, but somebody will know where you can find one.
     
  3. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    The only plugs that are different are the distributor plugs and the injectors. Other than that, everything should be the same. Get an obd1 distributor (or rewire the obd2, the wires are all the same color) and obd1 injectors. Then just plug in your obd1 harness. Nothing too complicated.

    As far as the ECU, don't waste money on an obd1-obd2 jumper. The obd2 ecu is crap. Just chip your P28 that should already be in the car.

    If you want, you can pm me on AIM (greyfades) with questions.
     
  4. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    If you are installing a USDM B18C5 and it came with the wiring harness, use that. Then get a P28 chipped to the ITR specs, as you don't have a P28 with a D16A. Where are you?
     
  5. Johnnylawless

    Johnnylawless Senior Member

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Also you may have an Alternator issue, I did and was told that I could use one from a 92 or 93 GSR (B17A1). The problem with the B18C5 Alternator is that the plugs are different,so just use that one
     
  6. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    I believe it depends on the year of the C5, I want to say 98+ has four, maybe not though.
     
  7. freakie

    freakie Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005



    Hi guys,

    Im overwhelemed with the responses. I know 5 doesnt sound like alot, but it means alot to me.

    I am located in Australia, and this swap is not a common one. The engine is a b18c (type R) from a JDM ITR. I have the whole chassis intact with engine, engine loom, and gearbox etc. IE I can get everything from the original car.

    Im unsure as to how to change the odb2 to 1 wiring for the distributor. If the injectors are different for the plugs aprt of that, I can run the older b18c GSR fuel rail that has the older clips and change them.

    Does anyone have pics of how the odb2 to 1 dizzy is changed? should i just buy an odb1 gsr dizzy and use that?

    if anyone has pics of this swap in action in a matrix Id be willing to pay for this information.


    civicious: I dont use AIM do you have MSN or ICQ?
     
  8. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    If you have the ITR use it's harness, it plugs right into your Civic at the shock towers.
     
  9. dwengines

    dwengines Junior Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Hey how did you get that moving graphic of the car where your picture goes? That is tight! I want one :)

     
  10. swanny

    swanny Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Location:
    buck teeth and government checks, PA
    My controls on the top right corner of the page to Edit Avatar Settings on the left hand side column.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page