1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No Vtec!?!?

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by Yurik, Jun 16, 2007.

  1. Yurik

    Yurik New Member

    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    i have a obd0, b16, in my honda crx, and i am not getting any vtec at any rpm at all, we have checked the solanoid, its good, we have no clue, could it be the ecu? im lost :confused:
     
  2. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,402
    Likes Received:
    626
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    first of all, are you trying to get vtec to pop while the car is just sitting? bc it wont, the car has to be driving, cant just rev to it.
    make sure all your wires are hooked up correctly. knock sensor, vtec silenoid, oil pressure, if they arent in the correct ecu pin, then no vtec. (use search up top to locate the instructions if needed)
    make sure your oil is full,
    and do you have a check engine light on? wont hit if so,
    and does your speedo work? no vss (vehicle speed sensor) signal, then no vtec.

    a lot of stuff but if the engine isnt in primo running condition then the ecu wont allow vtec to hit,

    let me know if any of this helps.
     
  3. Yurik

    Yurik New Member

    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    oil pressure is good, we removed the sending unit and put in a gauge, the ecu is a pr3, obd0, no check engine lights, im not activating vtec while its reving, im doing a solinoid test on the solinoid it self, it tested out fine, im confused, no idea whats going on, how hard is it supposed to kick in? it seems as tho it will kick in at about 1/4 to 1/2 throttle but anything over that, no vtec, speedo works, but my rpm gauge in the cluster is messed up, also rywire did my wiring harness if that provides any info :confused::confused::confused:

    also it seems as tho if im anything over 2nd gear, even at half or 1/4 throttle it wont do anything at all vtec wise
     
  4. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,402
    Likes Received:
    626
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    if your speedo isnt working then the vtec wont kick in. the ecu doesnt pick up that your moving so it thinks that your trying to hit vt while sitting still. if the car isnt in gear and going then the vtec wont kick in.

    the speedo sends a signal to the ecu that tells it that the car is moving. did your tranny come with a digital speed sensor? if so then all you have to do is wire it up, you still wont have a speedo unless you buy an eg or ek cluster but your vtec will kick in.

    vss is located under the throttle body, behind the starter. look at it then comapare it to the one on your stock tranny.
     
  5. Yurik

    Yurik New Member

    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006

    my speedo works fine, my rpm doesnt cuz the cluster is fucked up
     
  6. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,402
    Likes Received:
    626
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    so you drive it down the road, get up to 5500 rpm and nothing?

    rywire did the wiring? damn this is a tuff one,

    hell, it may be the rpm gauge. im not sure.


    1. Disconnect the 1P connector from the VTEC solenoid
    valve.
    2. Measure resistance between the terminal and body
    ground.
    Resistance: approx 14—30 ohms
    3.If the resistance is within specifications, remove the
    VTEC solenoid valve from the cylinder head, and
    check the VTEC solenoid valve filter for clogging.
    • If there is clogging, replace the engine oil filter and
    the engine oil.
    4. If the filter is not clogged, push the VTEC solenoid
    valve with your finger and check its movement.
    • If VTEC solenoid valve is normal, check the engine
    oil pressure.
     
  7. Yurik

    Yurik New Member

    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    well my rpm gauge used to work, then we messed with it putting some reverse glow gauges in, which i regret, and now its f'ed

    already did that test like i told you, vtec solinoid messured 12 ohms, which is close enough to specs that it should not be bad, also checked the filter and all the parts, and i have an oil pressure gauge, at full throttle im at 80psi oil pressure, pushed the valve, it moves fine

    this one is a stumper for me also, i have no clue
     
  8. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    VTEC doesnt activate by throttle position.. it activates at a certain RPM.. with a b16 you should hear a change in engine note around 5500 if vtec is working..
     
  9. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,402
    Likes Received:
    626
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    damn, it seems that everything should be working. what kind of exhaust do you have?

    and when you get on it hard, does it feel like it stops pulling at about 6000 or 6500, or does it keep pulling hard untill 8000?
     
  10. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,402
    Likes Received:
    626
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    ive said it more than once, he never said anything so im assuming that hes moving down the road when hes says its not kicking in. (maybe i shouldnt assume?)
     
  11. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,402
    Likes Received:
    626
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    i was hoping he would get the point.
    but to make it a lil more blunt.

    Yuric, drive the car. push it hard. and see what it does. you should hear the vtec kick in. but you HAVE to DRIVE the car.
     
  12. Yurik

    Yurik New Member

    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    i am not an idiot...

    i drive the shit out of it, and no vtec, it seems like it will pull hard and POSSIBLY kick vtec in while in 1st and 2nd gears, but 3rd and 4th have no pull 6k and up hardly at all, now this is my first vtec car i have had, so i wasnt sure if it was vtec or not, so i asked my friend who worked for honda for 3 or 4 years and owned 5 or 6 vtec cars, he drove it, rode in it, everything, he said that it was not vtec and that it is not working, so we tested the solinoid with the resistance test, and it tested out fine, now maybe this guy could jus be an idiot and it is working i dont kno, this is my first vtec car, it does change pitch around 5k in 1st and 2nd, but in 3rd and 4th, and 5th, i have nothing

    we watched videos of vtec on the internet to c if it was similar, my buddy with an srt4 agreed that i have no vtec, and after watching the pitch change and how fast the rpm's go up after vtec engages, i am sure i dont have it

    this is a b16, odb0, skunk2 mani and tb, header, 2 1/4'' exhaust all the way back with a magnaflow muffler, and factory honda racing underdrive pulley
     
  13. Yurik

    Yurik New Member

    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    well ya, but like i said, this is my first vtec car, what feels to be vtec to me, the guy i know from honda said isnt

    thats y im kind of lost, my dad owns a shop I am going to have him look at it, but hes always busy with paying customers cars so it might be awhile lol

    i have gsr cams coming next week with some other stuff, so maybe that will make the "kick" of vtec a little more noticable and i wont have to worry
     
  14. P7ank5te7

    P7ank5te7 New Member

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    Radford, VA
    Why don't you try bypassing the ecu, and do a manual switch and see if you feel the change at when you hit the switch at about 5500 rpms. If you do and its not like what you feel with the ecu, then you may want to check all connections. If it doesn't come on then well of course you know its either oil pressure, or solenoid. Thats just my opinion, and if I'm wrong please correct me. -Gary
     
  15. matthewoleschuk

    matthewoleschuk New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    i have a skunk2 manifold and throttle body installed and after i put it on i have found to have no vtec. i wonder if there is a problem with there product. i am still trying to figure out what to do. its been like two weeks now and still cant get it. if you figure something out please let me know
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page