NOOB w/ stupid questions

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

pauls81sc

HI All,

Noob here.
Love this site. The info I've found has been second-to-none.

Here's what I'm up to: Currently acquiring parts to swap a B18A, obd0 from 90-91 Integra into my 89 CRX Si. I've found a 1990 teg as a donor car (complete car only $650). Only problem is that it's an automatic.

Am I right that the tranny from my CRX will not fit on the b18? :unsure:

And, are there any other issues I need to consider with converting the b18 from automatic to manual? :blink:

Sorry for the stupid questions. Did I mention how great this site is? :worthy:

d series trans (yours) will not bolt to a b series block

you will need to consider the auto ecu you get with the teg...

other than that you will need a manual flywheel, clutch, pressure plate and trans...
and not sure about your axle situation...

i have found tegs with auto trans for as low as 500
and tegs with manual trans but blown motors for 500...
just keep in mind that parts add up quick unless you get it all complete

I would try to find another car. You're going to spend $500 on this car that is an automatic. then another $250 on a good/decent transmission. Just look for a different donar car.

good luck...

Thanks for the replies.

Alright, so I was right that the CRX tranny will not work. (Issue closed.)

But, I'm still waffling on this teg.
If I buy a long block alone from a salvage yard it'll be $450.
I was assuming there were parts on this teg with the automatic tranny that I could use for the swap. But now that you mention it, axles are a question, and it probably doesnt have the shift linkage I will need either. I was going to need a tranny and ecu if I bought the long block anyway, but the flywheel, clutch, pressure plate are adders.