1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

O2 Sensor?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by ENCOPRESIS3, Apr 17, 2003.

  1. ENCOPRESIS3

    ENCOPRESIS3 Junior Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Location:
    LONG BEACH CA.
    EVER SINCE I PUT B16 INTO 1991 CRX, I GET A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALL THE TIME AND ECU READS OXYGEN CONTENT CODE, HOW DO I RESOLVE THIS AND HOW MUCH $ IS IT
     
  2. vtecsir1

    vtecsir1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    have you replaced the o2 sensor? what ecu are you running?
     
  3. crxjdm34

    crxjdm34 Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    i'm currently expeirncing the same problem. :angry: are you using 1 o2 or both? from what i have been researching you need both and they have to be in the correct location to properly read the exuast, 1 o2 reades cylinder 2/4 and the 2nd reads cylinder 1/3, i think :unsure: . you can always get a new ecu that only reads 1 o2, it looks like i might be doing that.
     
  4. jamiedude

    jamiedude Senior Member

    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    chesapeake,va
    correct me if im wrong guys but i always thought that the o2 sensor was in the header or the in the down pipe right before the cat
     
  5. legutki

    legutki Senior Member

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    IF YOU GUYS ARE RUNNING A PR3 ECU YOU NEED 2 O2 SENSORS IN YOU HEADER 1 IN 1&4 AND 1 IN 2&3. YOU CAN EITHER MAKE YOU OWN BUNGS OR LET A MUFFLER SHOP DO IT OR WHAT I DID WAS GET MY ECU REPROGRAMMED TO ONLY READ 1O2 SENSOR AT 1&4 AT GBRTUNNING.COM THEY HAVE REAL FAST TURNAROUND TIMES AND YOU GET A CUSTOM FUEL MAP FOR YOUR MODS.
     
  6. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    they tricked you into thinking that by you telling them what mods you have they can make a custom fuel map??

    hahaha
     
  7. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
  8. kingwilly

    kingwilly Senior Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    arizona
    so whats the best setup on o2 sensors with jdm b16.???
     
  9. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD

    both oxygen sensors in the same reltaive place... this pic is taken directly from a jdm b16a service manual... see where the two sensors are?

    [​IMG]
     
  10. crxjdm34

    crxjdm34 Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    ok...... what if you have a 4-1 header(dc sports) and there is one o2 sensor bung, on the header, right in front of the cat? do you just get another bung made at a local shop? the ecu should read both o2's proprely if they are placed correctly, right? :huh:
     
  11. D16z6CrxDx

    D16z6CrxDx Senior Member

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    the best way to do it and solve all the problems is running BOTH 02's out of the o2 at the collector of the header and just run both off of that another feasable is that u can ground the secon 02 and just run the cu with 1 grounded and 1 working nothing will happedn and u will be fine WITHOUT the cheak engine ligh but the best was to do it is just either make 2 bugs for 2 o2's or just run off both off of the collector DONT run both o2's off of 1 o2 at the header ur car wont run to its potencial...
     
  12. kingwilly

    kingwilly Senior Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    arizona
    so would 1 o2 sensor on the header and 1 o2 sensor on the cat work???
     
  13. D16z6CrxDx

    D16z6CrxDx Senior Member

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    thats kind of repetavie and not accurate, for one when it gose through the cat it totaly changes its chemical composition, basicaly its not that that same type of gas that's are coming out...so if u have one at the cat just dont worry about that one and run both of them off the colecter O2 becaseu if u run one off the cat and the other off the colector 2 of ur pistons are going to run very lean...
     
  14. Uppertorso

    Uppertorso Senior Member

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    it is best to keep the set up the way it is supposed to be, just run your normal o2 wire to the first o2 sensor, then run another wire from the second o2 sensor back to the ecu. Note-see picture above for the proper placement of the o2 sensors.

    for wire routing on the ecu see:
    http://www.hasport.com/Tech/Wring/Conversi...91%20DX-SiR.htm
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page