1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OBD-I Data Link Connector...online sellers?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by Rabinzero, Oct 16, 2006.

  1. Rabinzero

    Rabinzero Senior Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    Hey folks,

    I failed inspection because my OBD DLC is bad or damaged. I can't seem to find a place online that sells one and I've googled my ass off. Anyone offer any suggestions? I've heard junkyards, but that's not an option here unfortunately. Any places online you guys could point me to would be great! Thanks in advance.

    Justin
     
  2. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Short of going to a dealership and buying a brand new one, you aren't going to find one other than going to a junkyard. You MIGHT get lucky and find someone who's parting out a car who would sell you just the DLC, but I highly doubt it.

    Look online at some websites like junkyarddog.com , most junkyards will usually ship parts to you.

    If you don't want to use a junkyard or buy a new one for a dealership, you're pretty much SOL.
     
  3. Rabinzero

    Rabinzero Senior Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks Civicious! I'll try that route bro. Appreciate ya. Just to double check...I assume since Intercrew left the OBD-I in there, it works with b20 vtecs, right?
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2006
  4. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Yeah, it should work...There really isn't a whole lot to the DLC, all it is is a big plastic plug with a couplea wires in it...provided you're still using an OBD1 ECU it should work fine...the only thing I could think that would be the problem, short of it actually being damaged (which I find somewhat unlkely), would be that maybe you've got a chipped ECU or Hondata or something, which might cause the diagnostic scan tool that they're plugging in to not read the ECU correctly...I'm not sure if a chipped ecu and/or Hondata would cause that problem, as I've never had to deal with any type of emissions, but I suppose it's a possibility.

    I'd call Phillip and ask him what he thinks...he might be able to take care of the problem for ya. Oh, and if you do happen to talk to Phillip, tell him William from Lufkin said what's up.
     
  5. Rabinzero

    Rabinzero Senior Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    You know I will. Thanks again for all the info.
     
  6. LateApex31

    LateApex31 New Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    If J12 is cut on the ECU board (to allow full duplex communication datalogging) then the DLC won't work.
     
  7. Rabinzero

    Rabinzero Senior Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    I'll have him check that out too LateApex31. Thanks for your input as well.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page