OBD I DLC and ECU questions

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

civic02

Hello, I am new to the Honda scene after just recently purchasing my 95 LS as a DD. I am originally from the 3000GT scene but am now selling that car.
Anyway I just have a few questions about the DLCs.

*Being a 95 Integra I understand that I am OBD I. I currently have no CEL or ABS light lit but decided to scan for the hell of it. I have noticed a 3 pin and 2 pin DLC. I jumpped both pins of the 2p DLC and the CEL did not flash at all (I assume I have no codes stored), but the ABS flashed 2 blinks paus 1 blink. The 98-01 manual claims this as a solnoid but I believe the 93 < claims it as a parking brake. Is jumpping the pins on the 2p DLC the correct way to read both the ABS and CEL? Also how can I have an ABS code stored but no light normally on and what does this code mean in a 95 integra?

*Does the OBD I ECU ever store "soft codes" which do not illuminate the CEL, yet still produce a flash code when the 2p DLC is jumpped?

*Being from the 3000GT scene I know that for the OBD I 3000GTs a device called pocketlogger or the Mitsubishi factory scan tool MUT-II can be used to read codes and datalog. Is there any such thing for Honda's OBD I? For example if I were to take my car to the dealership would they use a special tool to read the CEL, or just flash codes. Also if there is no special tool how can I datalog to view sensor data?

*If the 2p DLC is used to scan btoh the CEL and ABS, as I believe, what is the purpose of the 3piece DLC? I have saw a guide of how to read the CEL on a prelude mention jumpping the outter pins of the 3p DLC.

Those are some really good questions that you dont hear much about, unfortunately i cant help much on the subject of cel codes and the like but be patient and you should get some answers from our pros.