1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OBD Question

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by Mr.Hankey, Oct 1, 2008.

  1. Mr.Hankey

    Mr.Hankey New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Location:
    Port Angeles, WA
    so my engine blew about a month or ago it was a first gen b16a (88-91 OBD0), and i just have a few questions before i start my search for a short block or a long block to fix it.

    iv seen a few cheap bottom ends of the b16a and I'm just wondering because i really don't wanna redo wiring harnesses, can a newer bottom end that came off of a OBD1 Engine fit up to a OBD0 Top end? or does the OBD on the head and the bottom matter or is this a completely different subject I'm entering here?

    Sorry for the stupid qusetion
    Thanks
    Chris.
     
  2. FLounder

    FLounder power hungry VIP

    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    north palm beach, FL
    the blocks are interchangeable... no worries

    if you dont want to worry about wiring, just use a obd0 head
     
  3. Mr.Hankey

    Mr.Hankey New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Location:
    Port Angeles, WA
    thank you for the help and for the quick reply!

    my next question all of the parts on them are interchangeable as well? oil pan and water pumps and what not?
     
  4. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    yep its all interchangeable..but id get a new waterpump if i was you
     
  5. Mr.Hankey

    Mr.Hankey New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Location:
    Port Angeles, WA
    well i have the one off my old engine, it has roughly 65k on it. so its not high millage but u still suggest i get a new one?

    also anyone know any good places to buy just a B16A OBD0 heads other than just keeping my eye out on forums?
     
  6. ccsgsr1

    ccsgsr1 Banned

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    POCONOS
    Its best to replace all parts before installing an engine. Its alot easier out than in. It doesnt have to be obd0 it doesn't matter there all the same.
     
  7. prpprimo

    prpprimo Hondaholic

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    ABQ
    OBD= OnBoardDiagnostics (electrical related)

    There is no real relevance to an OBD-0 head other than manufacture dates.
     
  8. FLounder

    FLounder power hungry VIP

    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    north palm beach, FL
    i thought there was some difference with the distributor between a obd0 and obd1, but i could be wrong
     
  9. prpprimo

    prpprimo Hondaholic

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    ABQ
    There is most definitely a difference between obd-0 and obd-1 distributors as it is a vital electrical component. ;)
     
  10. Mr.Hankey

    Mr.Hankey New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Location:
    Port Angeles, WA
    so i can use a OBD1 head and just use my OBD0 distributor and what not?
     
  11. Mr.Hankey

    Mr.Hankey New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Location:
    Port Angeles, WA
    just so u guys can see what did happen to the engine (some of you might be interested)

    i was driving down the road one day next to my friend on my birthday and i was dippin and i red lined 3rd gear (NOTE: my car's bushing was blown i could move it around in gear like it was in neutral) and then went for 4th missed 4th :( and then went for it again and dropped 2nd gear. Also my car has a Mugen ECU with no rev limiter. you can piece the rest of that together. I'm estimating roughly 15k RMP + on the engine.

    smashed the 1st and 4th cylinder with the head and broke the 1st cyclinder piston in pieces, the piston broke my spark plug heads off on the 1st and 4th cylinder (Click here for picture)


    Before:
    [​IMG]

    After:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Holy shit that just sucks!! My dad missed a gear (also due to a sloppy shifter) and broke 1 valve and a hole through the cylinder. We were able to save the block and put a new head on though.
     
  13. prpprimo

    prpprimo Hondaholic

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    ABQ
    damn spankey mr hankey.
    Yes swapping dizzy's and heads works all day. Just be sure you have the right pins/plugs/ecu in conjunction with D series components which Im assuming that is what you have. :thumbsup:
     
  14. Mr.Hankey

    Mr.Hankey New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Location:
    Port Angeles, WA
    no its a B series engine.

    But yes i can swap everything from the old one over to the new head..

    Thanks for all of your help guys!
     
  15. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    And you're wondering why it broke? Just because you've got some kind of chip or ECU upgrade that allows you to remove the rev limiter doesn't mean your engine can handle revving that high. If you plan on consistently revving past the stock red-line then you need to build the engine for it...
     
  16. Mr.Hankey

    Mr.Hankey New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Location:
    Port Angeles, WA
    lol no I'm not wondering why it broke. I broke it and I'm aware of this. I shift at 8000 the b16 can handle 8200rpm
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2008
  17. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    When you say you could move the shifter around in gear as if it were in netural, what bushing are you talking about that were blown. I've been looking for an answer to my car's 'condition' like that as well. I have all good bushings on the bottom of the shifter, around the shifter, and on the end of the linkage (both ends), but I can move it around like it's in netural. Like set up for 3rd gear while in second for a straight throw. Etc.

    Is your shifter issue different than mine? And/or why does mine do that? If you don't mind.
     
  18. Mr.Hankey

    Mr.Hankey New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Location:
    Port Angeles, WA
    to be completely honest I'm not sure what bushing, I'm kinda a car dummy when it comes to getting into the car. iv just been told by many people that it was my bushing that was out.

    I will ask around though and see if i can get a answer for you.

    ** EDIT **

    well i just talked to my friend, hes kinda hit and miss on what he knows with cars. he said it was the "Shifter Bushings" if that means anything to you.

    id take that with a grain of salt though he has been wrong many of times.

    ill try and take it apart and take some pics and see what i can find and ill post them up here when i get a chance.

    ** 2nd EDIT :p **

    also my tranny is a cable transmission so i don't know if it matters or not.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2008
  19. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    That would be cool if you could say. It's been rediculous trying to find out, but I'm thinking it might be internal to the tranny.

    btw mine is an obd1 B16A with Y21 trans
     
  20. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    You took the words right out of my mouth.
    Put the car up on stands, call a friend to come over, get under the car, have your friend wiggle the shifter around as you watch the shift linkage, youll be able to see where the slop is in it. :thumbsup:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page