1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

obd0 turbo project

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by rex187, Aug 14, 2006.

  1. rex187

    rex187 Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Location:
    austin,texas
    ok i have a 91 crx si with a b16. im in the middle of turboing it but i dont know what all i need to about the ecu and the map. i want to push out at least 15+psi. all i need to know is what ecu program and map should i use. also is xenocron any good on their chipping.
     
  2. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    xenocron is very good

    obd0 = turboedit
    GM 3 bar map sensor
     
  3. rex187

    rex187 Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Location:
    austin,texas
  4. rex187

    rex187 Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Location:
    austin,texas
  5. ryan89crx

    ryan89crx Senior Member

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    TE is good, but BRE is designed for that motor.

    might want to research both to see which is better for your application
     
  6. erebunicrx

    erebunicrx my name is Dale

    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Location:
    Bristol ct
    i would convert to p28 obd1 and use chrome but uberdata would work also.
     
  7. Speedracer228

    Speedracer228 ......

    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    correct, but i dont think xenocron tune's BRE if i remember correct, before my last hatch was stolen i was putting together a turbo kit for it (ef with obd0 b16), and if you want turboedit you need to run 1 wire vtec (search HMT/pgmfi.org etc)

    in the long run i found it to be easier to just switch to obd-1, by the time you sell your ecu and dizzy you really only have to pay for the conversion harness because everything else should even out for the swap from obd0 to obd 1

    then you have lots more options in terms of tuning programs and people who can tune it
     
  8. tloc

    tloc New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    I know this is a newbie qustion but how exactly do u convert from obd0 to obd1.....what do u need.... and how much would it cost.
     
  9. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    You need....
    1)OBD1 ECU ~$125-150 for a chipped/socketed p28
    2)OBD1 Distributor. Depends on which engine, look to spend ~ 125-150 or so on an obd1 vtec distributor.
    3)OBD1 Alternator. I've heard that you don't actually need it, but I'm not sure, that's just what I've heard. Don't know how much they cost. Call autozone, kragen, or your local honda dealer. Or buy aftermarket.
    4)Conversion harnesses for a)ecu, b) distributor, c)alternator. You can just rewire your harness at the distributor and alternator, but xenocron sells the plug-and-play harnesses for like $15 a piece or something, so you don't have to hack your harness up. An ecu harness will cost you around $70 for a good quality piece. Again Xenocron (Chris Harris) makes great quality stuff for a good price. His socketed ecus are well soldered as well.

    A lot of people on here will tell you that you need to switch to obd injectors, but that is not true at all. In fact, many people switch over to an obd0 style setup so they can run a higher flow peak and hold type injector, rather than paying a LOT of money for higher flow saturated injectors.
     
  10. Speedracer228

    Speedracer228 ......

    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    you dont need a new alternator, the plugs are the same from obd-0 to 1, just the size and pully varies between motors

    rywire sells ecu conversion harness along with dizzy conversion harness (im pretty sure xenecron sells them on his site)

    so basically if you sell your dizzy and ecu you really wont be putting all that much out to switch to obd-1

    and you dont need new injectors either, actually it will be easier to keep the obd-0 one's in there with the resistor box if your planning to run dsm 450's as there almost plug and play (minor modification to injector seal/clip)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page