1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

(obd1 /93/ )engine into a 90 EF

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by xxji3lazexx, May 22, 2009.

  1. xxji3lazexx

    xxji3lazexx 1SIKEK4

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    RHODE ISLAND
    i need some help here!

    im swaping a d15b7 (obd1 /93/ )engine into a 90 EF,Using stock manual cable tranny off a EF.Do i need new axels?. I just finished the auto to manual swap.Just need to wire it all together .Do i need a harness jumper obd0 to obd1? anything else
     
  2. blasterman87

    blasterman87 New Member

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    you dont need a jumper just convert the motor to obdo by using your old harness... im pretty sure thats the case dont quote me on it though, also i think you have to cutt and solder the wires to the injector resistor box to use the newer injectors...
     
  3. xxji3lazexx

    xxji3lazexx 1SIKEK4

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    RHODE ISLAND
    thanks man could u find out if i deffinatly dont need jumper and i still have old motor and harness is still atatched so i unplug evrything?cut off ends of obd1 harness connectors and match colors to wire? will i need to use the obd0 dizzy?
     
  4. blasterman87

    blasterman87 New Member

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    use the newer ecu, and everything else use off the older motor.. even the dizzy it should all plug up no problem, im still not sure about the injectors though i think you have to cut/solder the wires to the box together but not sure...
     
  5. blasterman87

    blasterman87 New Member

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    no, wait... the older ecu wont plug in so i think youll need a 5spd obdo ecu, just chill man someone smart will answer
     
  6. xxji3lazexx

    xxji3lazexx 1SIKEK4

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    RHODE ISLAND
  7. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    You can run it obd0 or obd1, its up to you. i'm sure a pm6 obd0 ecu would run the b7 just fine. I don't know what it will take to bolt up an a6 dizzy to a b7. and yes the ecu must match the obd# of the dizzy. the best way to make it run exactly as it should though is with the stock p06. which means you would need to convert to obd1. if you get a jumper harness from rywire it will already have wired into it the plug for a 4 wire o2, which will be necessary when you go obd1. If you go this route then obviously just use the stock obd1 dizzy, and in the kit you will also get two small conversion harness so the obd1 distributor will plug directly into your stock obd0 harness.
     
  8. 97hatch

    97hatch ?

    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Anderson IN
    first off what was your ef DX/SI/HF/STD. This will make a diffrence on which way i lead you as this may or may not be a plug and play ordeal.
     
  9. xxji3lazexx

    xxji3lazexx 1SIKEK4

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    RHODE ISLAND
    so basically if i get the harness jumper i can keep my stock b7 ecu and wont have to worry aboutt paying someone to wire it u,or make a custom harness..and how is a obd0 chassi harness supposed to clip with the obd1 engine harness..wire it up!?match color ect.
    please get back thanks EFFFFFFFFF
     
  10. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    If you get the jumper harness then no you won't need to have anyone do any fancy custom wiring for you. just plug the jumper into your obd0 cabin harness and then the obd1 ecu into the jumper.

    In regards to your other question, you will not be using the b7's obd1 wiring harness. you'll take the obd0 harness off your current engine and move it to the b7.

    like 97hatch said, it is important to figure out what chassis you have though. if your car is dpfi injection (2 injectors/1 main, 1 auxilliary) then you need to convert it to mpfi. If your car is an si or hf then you will not need to do this, as they are already mpfi. in the event that your car is dpfi, this will help you convert it.

    http://hondaswap.com/swap-articles/dpfi-mpfi-writeup-49557/

    lastly you will need to move/extend the coolant fan switch wires from the back of the block where they are located on your obd0 harness, to the side of the head at the thermostat housing. this is where the ect switch is located on obd1 engines.
     
  11. xxji3lazexx

    xxji3lazexx 1SIKEK4

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    RHODE ISLAND
    EF dx
     
  12. xxji3lazexx

    xxji3lazexx 1SIKEK4

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    RHODE ISLAND
    wish there could be a vid to this swapp cuz ima newb and im doin all this my self with some help from a friend that swapps on a daily basis but he said why didnt i go Ls he could of done the swap with his "eyes closed" but when swapping another d series he dosent know where to start lol...
     
  13. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    If he's so good then this should not be that difficult. the dpfi to mpfi writeup is pretty idiot proof. run the wires properly and securely, and your engine will run exactly as it should. if he can't figure out how to install a jumper harness, then maybe he shouldn't be touching your car...

    also something else i just remembered. you will need to swap the engine driver side post mount from your stock engine over to the b7.

    did you intend on using the b7 hydro tranny, or are you just using the dx tranny you already have? i suppose its possible you might be getting an si tranny. in the event you wanted to use the b7 trans, then you will need a hydro to cable conversion kit.
     
  14. xxji3lazexx

    xxji3lazexx 1SIKEK4

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    RHODE ISLAND
    Is the post mount the mount that has. Two bolts stickin out on the right?
     
  15. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
  16. 97hatch

    97hatch ?

    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Anderson IN
    sorry but i dont have time to help sort out all the misleading information from people who cant read.... Your besr and easiest options are to convert from DPFI to MPFI and use a PM6 obd0 ecu and dizzy OOOOORRR you can convert the car to OBD1 and use a P06 and obd1 dizzy the only problem is with the obd 1 converson you still have to convert to MPFI


    or

    oprion #3 i dont know why you changed the engine but if it was just to get yor car runing you can keep the car MPFI by using the orginal intake manifold, wiring harness, ECU and dizzy this would probaly be the simplest for you since you have know idea where to start
     
  17. xxji3lazexx

    xxji3lazexx 1SIKEK4

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    RHODE ISLAND
    thanks.when i putt the mount to the b7 look like its crocked
     
  18. 97hatch

    97hatch ?

    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Anderson IN
    it will be you have to take the drivers side mount off the engine that came out of the car on the b7 you will also need to switch the timing covers over because of the diffrent mount placement
     
  19. xxji3lazexx

    xxji3lazexx 1SIKEK4

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    RHODE ISLAND
    so basically take cover off on bolt the three bolts on the side and do the same to other swap them over and ill be able to use the stock civic90 mount correct?
     
  20. 97hatch

    97hatch ?

    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Anderson IN
    yes you are correct you should replace the timing belt while yo have every thing off
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page