1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OBD1 P72 ECU on H22a

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> BA-BB /CA-CD' started by NyQuiL_AcCoRD, Dec 5, 2004.

  1. NyQuiL_AcCoRD

    NyQuiL_AcCoRD Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Okay, I have a H22a1 swapped into my accord. I was wondering if it will be possible to run a JDM OBD1 P72 ECU on my car. Currently, I'm running on a friend's ECU right now. He want it back, and I have a P72 on hand. So I want to know if it will work. I want to use the P72 on my H22a.
     
  2. nfn15037

    nfn15037 Senior Member

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Socket the P72 and tune it with something, and yes. It will run lean with stock GSR fuel maps.
     
  3. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State


    Yeah, have that P72 chipped, and you can run the H22 maps.

    The P72 has IAB and a knock board already. Check out PGMFI.org, or look for a place to chip the ECU for you. I don't suggest you do it yourself. A P72 isn't cheap to replace, and the work can be done for fairly cheap.
     
  4. NyQuiL_AcCoRD

    NyQuiL_AcCoRD Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Okay,

    Can I get the P72 chipped with hondata, tune it, and run a h22a map?
     
  5. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    Definitely. Some may argue that this is the BEST ECU for that application. I have had troubles with false Knock Sensor codes in the past, so that is why the P72 is not my choice.

    That, and the P72 is harder to find for cheap. The P72 and the P28 are two of the most widely supported ECU's out there. The P13 is a good ECU, but does not have the product support.
     
  6. nfn15037

    nfn15037 Senior Member

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Just disable the KS in whatever ECU you are using(if applicable) the Honda KS is a piece of shit anyways.
     
  7. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    Well, the P28 doesn't have knock or IAB, so I have to add IAB.

    But since he already has a P72, he's golden. For someone with neither, a P72 is more expensive than a P28.

    I paid 160 plus shipping for my P13. In retrospect, I should have bought a P28 socketed and chipped with P13 maps. It's about the same price, and I wouldn't have had to mess with my knock sensor so much, and I would have been that much closer to Uberdata. ;)
     
  8. shifter

    shifter Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    my friend has Accord aerodeck with h22a swapped in with auto tranny. it has p13 jdm ecu for now and external TCS (ecu code is:
    37820-P13-N50
    553 J-AT)

    i want to run p28 with added itb with that engine, but when i pluged in my socketed p28 auto tranny trow a code and allow to drive on 1st and 2nd gear only.

    what i have to do to run that engine with my P28 (i am almost sure it's possible =))
     
  9. driver1

    driver1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    p72 is the best ecu for the application. I currently am running one right now in my h22 swapped accord. but without something to alter the fuel maps its not any good due to a lack of fuel when vtec engages which results in a serious bog. I am using an apexi vafc2 to tune the fuel maps with and have left them alone other than upping the fuel at vtec engagement point. also vtec engages at 4500 rpm on the p72 ecu which the h22 is not meant to do the h22 is setup cam wise to engage at 5200 rpmso in turn if u do not up the vtec engagemnt u risk losing power sue to the cams not being desinged to make power in vtec at that rpm. This is also why i opted for the vafc so i could change this as well. Obviously if u go hondata u will be able to do this anyway. Oh and tfor the record the h22 is more powerful on the leaner p72 fuel maps for sure
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page