1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

obd1 swap into 1997(obd2)

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by 97dc4, Jul 8, 2003.

  1. 97dc4

    97dc4 Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    To make my b18c1(obd1) swap work into my 1997 ls(obd2) what do I need?
    Injectors?
    new distributor?
    obd2 ecu?
    Can I use my obd1 ecu with a jumper harness?
    Any info on makeing an obd1 motor work in an obd2 ecu would be very helpful.
    Thanks
     
  2. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    OBD-1 ECU and a conversion harness so it will plug into your car
    done

    might not pass emissions though
     
  3. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    or just use an obd2 gsr ecu (before 98.... 99+ have immobilizers)
    and swap over the IAB.
    consult our 5th gen sweap guide that talks abotu it
     
  4. 97dc4

    97dc4 Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    The injectors and dist. don't matter? I know that there is no vtec wiring or knock sensor wiring, I can do that later. Does a jumper harness just plug into the end of the obd2 wiring harness and then plug into the obd1 ecu?
     
  5. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    is this a USDM or JDM engine???
    do you have the harness

    yes the jumper harness simply plugs in between the harness and ECU
     
  6. 97dc4

    97dc4 Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    It's a usdm engine from a 1995 gsr. Replaced clutch, water pump and timing belt. I'm in the process of buying the jumper right now. Still wondering about the injectors and dist. Will my obd1's work, or do I need obd2?
     
  7. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    if you have the harness it will all plug in at the shock towers and you dont have to change shit .... just add the VTEC, knock sensor, and secondaries wires and your set
     
  8. noobvang

    noobvang Senior Member

    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Location:
    Twincities, MN
    Use your ls engine harness. Rewire vtec, vtec oil press, and knock sensor.

    You might be able to get by with the ls dizzy.

    The only sensor that you might have to leave out is the Crank Flucuation(sp?) Sensor. The one at the crank. Im still working on this if it fits in OBDI motors.

    You will also have to switch over your ls alternator to the new motor, unless you want to cut your harness.

    You can also use your ls injectors.

    You can salvage most of your ls parts.
    :D
     
  9. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    why bother with all that
    if he has the USDM GSR harness
    it will plug in at the shock towers to his harness
    it will obviously work with the engine so thats not an issue
    just run a few wires from the ECU to the plugs at the shock towers
     
  10. noobvang

    noobvang Senior Member

    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Location:
    Twincities, MN
    You might no know this but the OBDII wire harness is one solid pice, not two piece like the OBDI's are.

    So save the ls one and reuse it if you want to.
     
  11. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    thats for civics
    the integra was still a 2 piece
     
  12. 97dc4

    97dc4 Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Thanks for all the help, but now I'm confused. Is this going to be complete plug and play, or am I going to have to swith some things around?
     
  13. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    you are going to need the conversion harness for the ECU to plug into your cars harness
    then run the wires for VTEC, Knock sensor, and the secondaries from the ECU to the shock towers

    plug the GSR harness harness into your cars harness at the shock towers and thats it

    not quite plug and play ... but not a lot of bullshit either
     
  14. noobvang

    noobvang Senior Member

    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Location:
    Twincities, MN

    Really? I thought that all OBDII were the same?
     
  15. SLOINTEGRA

    SLOINTEGRA Junior Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    I have an obd2 GSR ecu and I need a OBD1 for my B16a it might be easier on both of us if we trade
     
  16. 97dc4

    97dc4 Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Update:

    The swap went great. Everything works great, still need to wire the vtec as of now though. No mods besides the the conversion harness and vtec wiring were necessary. The only thing I needed to swap from my ls motor was the header. The gsr header was about 6" too short for my ls exhaust. Also, we had to modify my ls throttle cable to fit the gsr im. We had to make a longer bracket. The following took 12 hours to perform:
    Replaced timing belt and water pump (out of car)
    replaced clutch and flywheel (out of car)
    ate taco bell
    took out ls motor
    dropped in gsr motor
    filled completely with fluids
    Believe it or not it ran perect the first time I started it. No fine tuning or anything was needed. It was almost too easy. I am still a bit confused about the vtec wiring though... i will figure it out.
    :worthy: to all those who helped me.

    SLOINTEGRA: I'm keeping my obd-1 ecu, but I am intrested in buying your obd-2. I will need it for emissions come next april. What year is the ecu?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page