1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

obd1 to obd2 sohc vtec swap questions...what do i need?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by evodave, Dec 3, 2007.

  1. evodave

    evodave New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    so basically picked up a 1996 honda civic ex 5spd for cheap w/ a bad motor and i have a 1993 or 1994 honda civic ex motor thats perfectly good sitting around. What do i need to do to put the obd 1 motor in and make it work. i was gonna get new intake, exhaust, oil pan (just to be safe) and all other misc. gaskets and switch the 96 intake manifold setup w/ injectors and exhaust setup and just toss in the motor from the obd1 otherwise. is this correct and no other issues? are all those gaskets the same?

    Dave
     
  2. igotnothin

    igotnothin New Member

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    harford co MD
    :(i am looking in to the same thing now cause my bro blew his d16y8 up, and i have my stock 95 ex engine just chillin.

    The issues are there are not as many sensors on the 92-95 as the new one, inparticular the crank position sensor, but there are 2 more on the block i think
    If you swith the intake many you will save your self some trouble. Another issue is the vtech wireing. I belive the 92- 95 engines have 2 wire while the 96-2000 has a 3 wire. But dont hold be to that, i just know its an issue. Not all the sensors are neede, but atleast where i live emmission are a big thing, and those sensors missing will not allow you to pass. Car might throw a cel code with them not hooked up

    You will also need to steal the obd2 dizzy off the 96 -2000 engine and use the injectors from the 96 - 2000. You will need the obd2 alternator as well.

    Hope this helps
     
  3. dtob

    dtob New Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    What I would do is use the obd 2 stuff off the Y8 such as injectors, alternator, distributor, etc. on the z6 then I would use the P28 ecu out of the older civic with the wiring harness adaptor for running that ecu in your car. That should do it.

    P.S. Vtech is a kids computer or phone. Vtec is what makes your car fast.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2007
  4. 90_EF_Hatch

    90_EF_Hatch Señor Member

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    if your putting an obd2 into an obd1 car with the odb1 ecu and wiring it shouldnt throw any codes because it isnt programed for the extra sensors. At least thats the jist of what i read in another thread earlier ... i dont remember which one because i am just thread hopping right now :)
     
  5. igotnothin

    igotnothin New Member

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    harford co MD

    but he is putting an older engine in to a newer car. so it will throw codes ;)

    oh and fyi. it is illegal to do so, put older obd in to newer car... not that we care, but just a little heads up ;)
     
  6. 90_EF_Hatch

    90_EF_Hatch Señor Member

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    is it really illegal? or not just in some states or what?
     
  7. evodave

    evodave New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    bump so the crank sensor on my obd 2 car is the issue since the obd1 engine doesn't have it ...any solutions??
     
  8. AKUMA§KILLERGLASS

    AKUMA§KILLERGLASS New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Cali
    Yes It Is Illegal To Put An Obdi Engine Into An Obdii Car
     
  9. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    The law states that you put an engine from the same year or newer if you replace the motor. I don't know if that applies to every state but I would say its better off to assume so.
     
  10. dtob

    dtob New Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    You would have to run the obd1 ecu to fix that problem.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page