1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

obd1 to obd2

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by kermit5327, Dec 17, 2007.

  1. kermit5327

    kermit5327 New Member

    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    what has to be done to convert from obd1 to obd2 would it be easier to convert the car or the motor im looking at a weird swap for my 93 experiment a D17A7
     
  2. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Well, it's generally easier to convert the engine to OBD1, but I don't really know whether or not there any ECUs that will run a D17 on OBD1, or if there's an option to chip an ECU to run it for you.

    Can I ask why you want to do a D17 into a 93? It's kind of a weird swap, and a lot of trouble for not a lot of gain it seems like. Also, the aftermarket for that engine really isn't all that great. A D16Z6 would be a much better choice, in my opinion.
     
  3. kermit5327

    kermit5327 New Member

    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    i was thinking about just random swaps to do
     
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Ah, I see. Yeah it would be cool to pop the hood on a 93 and see a D17 sitting in the bay, but not very practical from an installation or performance standpoint. It would be mostly for the "oh, that's unique" factor I guess.
     
  5. kermit5327

    kermit5327 New Member

    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    yeah thats what i was thinking
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page