1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OBD2 B16A and Emissions

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by daf, Jan 20, 2007.

  1. daf

    daf Junior Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Ok, Ill make it quick and simple. I have a 98 EX with a 97 SiR II B16A in it I installed this summer. I need it to pass emissions ASAP.

    What do I need. I already bought a p72 which I have been told will work, and I am doing the CKF fix to take care of that. I am picking up a Purge Selinoid tomarrow as well.

    What else will I need cause I cant find ANYWHERE that will give me a half desent write up.

    I am in NC and it only needs to pass the OBD2 plug up thing.
     
  2. divisii

    divisii Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    You cannot legally swap an earlier model year motor into a newer vehicle. So your ok if they don't check. Your car will need to blow readings within the parameters allowed & you need to have smog equipment for your model year - perhaps use the SI (DOHCB16A2) parts to get there - pre/post cat o2 sensors, any (?) catalytic converter, EVAP, etc.. As long as your not throwing any CEL codes you should be good.
     
  3. divisii

    divisii Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    ... oh, I've found my 96-99 honda manual to be the single best buy to sort is all out.
     
  4. Domi31

    Domi31 Member

    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    Nor Cal
    You may throw a CEL becuase the USDM ecu will look for VTEC oil sensor, and the JDM motors dont have one.

    I got this CEL when I went with a USDM OBDI ecu on my JDM motor, I just spliced my VTEC solenoid wire with VTEC oil presser on my harness, so the ECU was seeing a signal for oil, worked perfect

    I'm sure you can do the same thing with the OBDII ecu, pinouts are diffrent

    I'm shure it will work, but I also think the CEL only comes on when motor tries to engage VTEC becuase the USDM ecu looks for correct oil pressure (safty thing) and I dont think they will take the motor that high up the RPMs, so if that is the case no worries, but just throwing that out becuase if you have a CEL your screwed.
    good luck
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2007
  5. untitledsince89

    untitledsince89 New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Where in NC do you live I'm in winston and have a shop u could get it done at
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page