1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Obd2 In 0bd0

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Ractive78, Mar 3, 2003.

  1. Ractive78

    Ractive78 Senior Member

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Hybrid Revolution told me:
    We do supply the Full harness (inside and out) So the wiring part wont be a problem.. Also you can get a OBD
    conversion harness from hasport.com.

    When I get my itr motor it will come with the full obd2 Full harness (inside and out) So what type of wiring do you think I would have to do. And can you explain to me why if I got the full obd2 harnes, why I would need a conversion harness. Couldnt I just swap the obd0 wiring harness with the obd2 since its the full uncut harness?
     
  2. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    I believe that if they supply you with a full, uncut harness (inside and out) and the OBD2 ECU you shouldn't have to do any wiring at all. If someone know differently, please correct me.
     
  3. solblu

    solblu Senior Member

    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Location:
    Ricer
    Why not just convert to OBD 1? It's relatively easy and much cheaper.
     
  4. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    Becuase the motor he wants is OBD2.
     
  5. Ractive78

    Ractive78 Senior Member

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    So basicaly If I just put in the uncut wiring harness. I really wouldnt have to do any wiring? Would I still have to get an obd0 to obd2 wiring harness?
     
  6. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    If you get a complete harness from ECU to engine I don't think there will be any wiring for you to do, but I could be wrong. The are wires coming out of the ECU that go places other than the engine...
     
  7. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    What about all the stuff behind the dash?If he swapped the whole harness wouldn't he have to rewire to everywhere it went?
     
  8. solblu

    solblu Senior Member

    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Location:
    Ricer

    Motors are not OBD, only electronics.

    Yes you will have some issues.The obd2 harness has a electronic speed sensor, and some of the interior items don't match up exactly. The real pain is pulling the car apart to swap the harnesses. You will need the OBD 2 interior and engine fuse boxes, and a lot of patience. Check to make sure there are no SRS or ABS issues. It's probably a lot easier to just buy the conversion harness.
     
  9. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Yes,but if it was made for a OBD II car the electronics would be OBD II,and need to be changed to be OBD I.
     
  10. Ractive78

    Ractive78 Senior Member

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    So i should get an obd0 to obd2 harness?
     
  11. solblu

    solblu Senior Member

    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Location:
    Ricer
    Can you solder? Or are you comfortable ripping out your entire wiring harness and making the obd 2 harness work? Do you want plug ang play? If you want easy get the conversion harness. If you think you can make it yourself I have instructions for obd0 to obd1 and 0bd2 to obd 1, so you could do it yourself. It's not really hard. I say, Just make it OBD 1, get a chipped p28 or Hondata and use the OBD 2 harness to keep your dizzy and injectors.
     
  12. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home

    i completely agree.

    Even if he gets the ENTIRE UNCUT harness (which is doubtfull), have fun wiring your entire car ALL OVER again. I'm talking dash, Interior overhead lights, tail lights- months of work, that is such a waste of time.

    What i would do is get an obd0->1 converter harness from hasport, skunk2, kenji, etc... there's plenty of options there. Chip a p28 with hondata or have kenji chip it for a dohc motor.
    then, convert the electronics on the motor to obd1.
    -injectors
    -distributor
    -alternator

    From my expereince, I would try to pick up a complete d16z6 engine harness. Plug that into the motor after the above changes are made, and go from there.
    That's what i would do if i were doing an obd2 swap in an obd0 car.
     
  13. Ractive78

    Ractive78 Senior Member

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Do you know who can chip a p28 ecu to make it have specs like the itr ecu or better, to give me more power?
     
  14. Ractive78

    Ractive78 Senior Member

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
  15. Ractive78

    Ractive78 Senior Member

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Wh a p28, why not one fro a obd1 gsr?
     
  16. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    if you want to pay $350 for a gsr ecu, go for it. but p28s go for 100-125 pre-chipped for dual cam.

    chipping it to ITR specs, or any other spec for that matter is stupid. it WONT give you more power. your motor is not an itr, your tuning woul fbe way off.
     
  17. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    If you look around you can find an OBD1 P72 for around $200. I did. But I agree with Brian, the P28 chipped to ITR specs is a better way to go. For one thing the P72 VTEC crossover is too low for ITR cams.
     
  18. Ractive78

    Ractive78 Senior Member

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Virginia, USA

    yes but the motor i am getting is itr
    who could tune the p28 to itr specs
     
  19. Ractive78

    Ractive78 Senior Member

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
  20. Ractive78

    Ractive78 Senior Member

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    IM going to make my own harness and i was wondering what gauge wires to use
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page