1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

obd2 in a eg

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by alaskacivic, Apr 23, 2004.

  1. alaskacivic

    alaskacivic Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    i am looking at putting in a b16 out of a 2000 si and its obd2 i beleive? correct me if im wrong... does the obd2 plugs on the engine harness plug into the engine bay harness, what do i have to to make an obd2 engine work in a obd1 car? i have a 94 ex coupe
     
  2. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,024
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    no OBD-2 civics use a 1 piece harness... it goes all the way through the firewall to the ECU
    OBD-1 civics use a 2 piece harness that connects to plugs at the shock towers

    you can modify your stock harness using the distributor, injector, and alternator plugs from the OBD-2 engine

    or you can use an OBD-2 engine harness from a GSR or ITR and plug it directly into your cars harness

    depending on what year and model civic you have you may need to run wires for VTEC

    depending what ECU you use you may need to run wires for the knock sensor
     
  3. alaskacivic

    alaskacivic Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    so the gsr and itr harness are the two peace harness as well or what?
     
  4. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,024
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    yes
    3rd gen integras have the same style 2 piece harness as 5th gen civics
    they plug right in at the shock towers with no problems
     
  5. alaskacivic

    alaskacivic Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    but will it also plug into the engine ? what would i have to change or would the harness plug right up?
     
  6. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,024
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    yes an OBD-2 GSR or ITR harness will plug right up to an OBD-2 B16
    (the GSR harness will have a few unused plugs)

    you might need additional wiring between the ECU and shock towers though
     
  7. alaskacivic

    alaskacivic Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    what do you mean by additional wiring?
     
  8. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,024
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT

    :spin:
     
  9. alaskacivic

    alaskacivic Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    i have an ex , what ecu doesnt need knock sensor wiring?
     
  10. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,024
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    a chipped P28 will not look for a knock sensor

    but you will need something to tune down the air/fuel ratios (they tend to run rich as all fuck)
     
  11. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    And unless you have a OBD I P30 you'll need a OBD IIb->OBD I hanress to run hte Si's ECU.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page