1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

obd2 motor into obd1 hatch

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by hatcher, Oct 27, 2003.

  1. hatcher

    hatcher Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    i have a obd1 b16 in my hatchback right now. i can get a 99 gsr mtor for my car. will wiring be hard??? i need info on the wiring part. want to stay obd1. what will i have to do with the obd2 harness?? can i just use change the obd2 distrubuter and put my obd1 distrubuter on and just use the obd1 harness???
     
  2. FTPRACING

    FTPRACING Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    id just change the distributer most of the rest of tha harness is tha same just a few extra sensers on tha newer motor

    what the computer cant see wont hurt it if not the obd1- obd2 adapter is only like $30 on ebay just gotta watch for it
     
  3. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    no, just get the 99 gsr engine harness, it wil plug into your firewall harness. this way you can keep the obd2 injectors, dist, and alt.
     
  4. Johnnylawless

    Johnnylawless Senior Member

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    I put a '00 ITR in a '95 civic DX coupe. All I really had to do is use my original DX wiring harness and splice on the injector plugs from obd 2 harness also you should be able to use a 93 integra alternator to give the obd1 plug with the mounting that will mount to the b series engine.also I spliced the obd2 distributor to the DX harness, Obd2 is a combined plug version of the obd1(2 plugs), pin placement is the same, just splice one pin at a time. I had to wire in my Knock sensor,VTEC pressure sensor and VTEC solenoid into my ECU, I don't know if you will.

    Enjoy, JIM
     
  5. 1fast5gen

    1fast5gen Junior Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    florence, ky
    the obdII engines a have a few differences than the obdI. for one, they have another o2 sensor. if that is not wired up, ur ecu will definately throw a code.. another hing is the knock sensor.. i think there is one more thing but i cant think of it. the whole harness situation is up to you.. its pretty much the same way.. if you can get ahold of the gsr harness id use that. if not, dont pay 600 for one. i paid 600 for my gsr one.. they rnt cheap. splicing the obdI harness will not be hard.. good luck
     
  6. hatcher

    hatcher Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    let me get this straight, if i use the obd2 harness then i can keep everything obd2 (distrubuter,ect..) on motor? plug that up to the shock tower where it is the obd1 interior harness and use obd1 ecu?? is that correct??

    OR

    FTPRACING, all i have to do is change distrubuter to obd1 and just plug up the obd1 harness?? no need for extra plugs?? have u done this before?

    what is the best way and easiest way. thanks for the replies so far
     
  7. hatcher

    hatcher Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    would it make things more easier to get a itr manifold?
     
  8. 1fast5gen

    1fast5gen Junior Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    florence, ky
    it would be easier to change the few things from the obdII motor over to obdI than it would to change everything else to obdII.. that way all the plugs match up and maybe just a few more wires ran..
     
  9. gser

    gser Junior Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    We just did a 99 gsr swap in my buddy’s 92 hb si, a everything was a straight swap, just with out a o2 sensor, we put a jdm p30 and put on a skunk2 intake manifold to get rid of the crappy secondary butterflies and the snail ITM, 8 pound flywheel Competition Clutch Ice Man CAI, ran a 14.6 96mph with a broken valve cover seal spraying oil and afterwards finding out the timing was retarded, but anyways…. Just get an obd1 ecu….p72.
     
  10. gser

    gser Junior Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    and one more thing, you can use the p30ecu that your using for your b16, p30 are better computers anyways. but just get a different intake manifold.
     
  11. hatcher

    hatcher Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    would it be a good idea to put a b16 manifold in and get rid of the gsr manifold?? any lost in power with that?? would the get rid of the iab?? i will be using a usdm p30 or p28
     
  12. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA

    b16 mani does not bolt up to gsr head
     
  13. gser

    gser Junior Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    The Skunk2 is great, its just like the type R mani, the runnners are striaght and no secondaries, i would use a jdm p30, more memory for down the line reprograming, the p28 have very little, so they have to make room for all that data, so thay make you air fuel ratio choppy. its not smooth curve. also the p30 is for a high compression motor and with a gser you stay in vtec after you shift in to second.
     
  14. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    memory? you fuck.

    christ. use the p72. the p30ss maps are WRONG for a gsr motor. end of story.

    gser, kindly unfuck your misinformative self, or leave. Thank you.
     
  15. Slo86GT

    Slo86GT Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Memphis - Hellhole of the South
    If you use a Skunk2 manifold, OBD1 P30 is the way to go, just richen up the fuel a little with an adjsutable fuel pressure regulator to account for the extra .2 displacement of the 1.8L over the B16a. You basically have a "poor man's ITR" at this point.

    If you stick with the GSR "snail" dual runner intake manifold with butterfly secondaries, then get an OBD1 P72. This ECU will open the butterflies, and adjsut fuel accordingly with the extra airflow.

    ECU's in Honda's are 99% IDENTICAL besides pin outs, and the program on the chip. If you compare a 99 GSR ECU to a 99 Civic DX, they LOOK identical, PROCESS identical, but have different sensor expectations and signal outputs.

    Let me know if you guys need any more info on the subject.
     
  16. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  17. hatcher

    hatcher Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    let me know if i am wrong. gsr motor is obd2. i will be able to keep eveeything on the motor obd2(distru,alt, starter, ect..) and will be able to use an obd1 interior harness with obd1 ecu??? im really confused!

    whats the best and easiest way to get this swap in my car?? i have obd1 b16 in right now.
     
  18. gser

    gser Junior Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    If you have a Si hatch everything goes in, if not you just have to wire vtec. but like i said you should use an obd1 p72, to run the secondaries. but if you use a p30 you have to get a new ITM.
     
  19. gser

    gser Junior Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    *************I’m sorry when I said "also the p30 is for a high compression motor and with a gser you stay in vtec after you shift in to second." that’s not true about when you shift into second you still in vtec, the reason why I said that is because we have a b16 tranny on the gser and the gears ratio is shorter and WE stay in vtec. Sorry about that. And <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>PISSEDOFFSOL</span> you don’t have to be such an ASSHOLE, I would gladly leave if I have to put up with fuckers that have to always try to prove themselves right.*****************
     
  20. gser

    gser Junior Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page