1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

obd2b motor in obd2a car

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by xcthc, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. xcthc

    xcthc New Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    more specifically... a b18b where a y7 used to be. i don't believe i'll have to do much wiring because they're both non-vtec.... but the b18 is an obd2b motor. in my internet searching it seems like i can just get the conversion harness and run the obd2b ecu, but will i have to run any extra sensors on top of that? can i just run an obd2a LS ecu and not have to worry about any loose sensors?:ph34r:
     
  2. rmas

    rmas New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    LX, Portugal
    i have made a similar swap, i have taken out my D15Z6 engine (OBD2A) and replaced with a B16A2 engine (OBD2B).

    The problems i had were:

    - i was forced to buy a OBD2A engine harness and ECU (OBD2B as a lot of sensors inside the car)

    aside from that, all sensors were the same, alternator and distribuitor wires were the same also.

    the only thing i had to adapt was some wires i had to extend to reach the sensors, the rest was basically the same.
     
  3. xcthc

    xcthc New Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    so you ran the obd2b motor with obd2a harness/ecu?
     
  4. rmas

    rmas New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    LX, Portugal
  5. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    Keep your obd2a harness and just find an obd2a LS ecu. You can find them in the 97-98 LS/GS/RS models, I believe.
     
  6. xcthc

    xcthc New Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    great. thanks for the answers
     
  7. Ecenbarger

    Ecenbarger New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    I am doing a swap its a 97 civic ex and it blew up. I just ordered the ecu because the engine is obd2b same situation as you guys. all the sensors and everything will plug up and work just fine except for 1 and that's the crankshaft fluctuation sensor/ crankshaft position sensor that is on the b18. I am using the d16 harness like everyone says to but the plugs are different the one on the integra is a 3 wire plug the one on my harness is a 2 wire. so should I just cut and plug or what? this forum has helped me a lot and after this question im ready to complete it.
     
  8. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,453
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    (I have no experience with this exact swap)
    You may need to cut the plug off, paste it on to the d16 harness, and run the 3rd needed wire to the correct pin on the ecu. Maybe someone else can chime in before you cut :)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page