1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Oh Crap, Problem With Skunk2 Im

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by lsvtec, Feb 12, 2003.

  1. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    I just bought a Skunk2 Manifold for a B16 to use on my LSVTEC. The Skunk2 page claims this manifold works with a B17A (93 GSR engine) which means that it would work with a fast idle valve that is not part of the throttle body. I can't find anywhere to mount the fast idle valve on the new intake manifold. My question is do I need this valve? If not, how do I bypass it? If so, how do I mount it to the manifold?
     
  2. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    could you post a pic of it? i have a skunk2 mani, but my stuff is 99 si... maybe i could help
     
  3. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    you have the obd0 intake manifold that has the external fast idle valve right??

    i dont think any skunk2 ones will accept that. you need a throttle body from an obd1 b16 that has the mechanical fast idle valve on the bottom
     
  4. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    Shit, I wish I had known that. Next question: can I just not use the Fast Idle valve? If not, where do you reccomend that I get a TB (I don't have a lot of cash)? If so, how?
     
  5. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    i'm currrently not using a fast idle valve either. when it's really cold out.. my car sometimes wants to stall for the first minute or so of driving.. but after that its fine.
     
  6. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    Cool, how did you bypass it? I can't really afford to buy a new TB at the moment. Living in Southern New Mexico I don't have to worry about it being really cold. :)
     
  7. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    i have an ITR throttle body that just doesn't have it :)
     
  8. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    My LS TB (which is what I am running) doesn't have one either. So if I just run this one I should be okay, right?
     
  9. toknology

    toknology Junior Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Location:
    lynn,mass
    use a type r comp or p28 comp
     
  10. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    Type R ECU will not work becuase I have an OBD1 car. Why would I want to make all the changes to go to OBD2? I'd have to get a P28 chipped. I already have a P72 that works well, I don't want to have to find a P28 with the right chip.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page