1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

oil breather pipe

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by nightshift, Nov 23, 2005.

  1. nightshift

    nightshift Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    SOUTH AFRICA
    my question is simple,

    how important is the oil breather pipe that goes from the cam cover into the throttle body intake pipe , what is its function ??,mine is unplugged at the moment because i recently installed an induction kit that has no provision for it (i opted to plug the I.A.T Sensor into the single hole provided),although i am planning on drilling a hole in steel pipe of the induction kit,to put it back
     
  2. EGProject

    EGProject YEEEEAAHHHHH

    Messages:
    2,870
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    Whitinsville, Massachusetts
    Part of the PCV system, extracts air out of the crankcase via engine vacuum. If you have it off for now, it's okay. You can also disconnect the whole PCV system, and use a catch-can instead of your intake tract.
     
  3. nightshift

    nightshift Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    SOUTH AFRICA
  4. jimboburgess

    jimboburgess Go fast, Go Cheap

    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Location:
    nyc
    on this topic, where should you route it for a turbo setup?
     
  5. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    run a catch can. there are a few theories on the correct way to run it.
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    you can disconnect it, but over time you'll have some carbon build up in your head. plus, you kill the "circuit" of the vacuum system.

    theroies, yes... but what really works is the way endyn set up their can. if it doesn't have 3 ports + a drain, its a waste of money.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page