1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

omni map sensor, tune?

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by pooksy64, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. pooksy64

    pooksy64 RidetilldeathdousparT

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    HOUSTON tX
    Ive seen the Omni 4bar map sensor on inlinefour.com. when tuning with this map sensor has anyone used a fuel map tuner such as the Apexi SAFC? :confused:Can you use a piggyback ecu to run the right A/F ratio. Or would it just be suggested to run a stand alone? im only going to be running @ 14psi max.

    i know the inexpesive way to block the stock map sensor w/ the missing link to be able to run positive psi(boost) but will only get you so far untill further runing is required
     
  2. DESPAIN

    DESPAIN yep....mmhhm.......yep...

    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    flower mound TX
    why do you want a 4 bar map for 14psi? just get a 3bar amp and a chipped ecu have it tuned and done!
     
  3. pooksy64

    pooksy64 RidetilldeathdousparT

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    HOUSTON tX
    i kno going for a 4 bar is not needed. but just a general ? about a positive psi map sensor. where do most ppl send off the ECU to get it tuned. if so when u add a SAFC can u still make changes to the chipped ECU?
     
  4. DESPAIN

    DESPAIN yep....mmhhm.......yep...

    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    flower mound TX
    Just get a hondata s100 and have it tuned. No piggy back crap
     
  5. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    you need to have software that can program for the map sensor.

    maps are 0-5volts whether is a 2,3, or 4 bar.
    thus, you need to set the tuning software for the correct map, as 2.5 volts on a 2 bar is a FAR different reading than 2.5 volts on a 4 bar.

    If you're chipped, ditch the SAFC. it will only cause problems. let the chip do the tuning.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. pooksy64

    pooksy64 RidetilldeathdousparT

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    HOUSTON tX
    where can i find the hondata s100 software?
     
  7. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,482
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    All over the place.

    If your ECU is already tuned, just have someone tune it with CROME, Uberdata, Neptune, ECtune, etc.

    Just a note, I ditched my Omni 4 bar because the parameters for that map sensor aren't correct. Not even the ones posted on their website. I'm still pissed off about that..
     
  8. pooksy64

    pooksy64 RidetilldeathdousparT

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    HOUSTON tX
    id rather tune it myself then use crome. ive tuned NA engines off of SCT & SAFC piggyback. but this is the 1st time stepping into forced induction on a honda motor. my supra was different compared to this. but same concept of tuning for added air
     
  9. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    you're only asking for trouble with the safc. you'll make FAR more power with a tune program, and it will be a LOT safer.

    the vafc-hack is 2002 technology and is deprecated at this point.
     
  10. pooksy64

    pooksy64 RidetilldeathdousparT

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    HOUSTON tX
    so basically with these tunes(hondata s100, crome). send the ECU off get it tuned to ur type of turbo set up. what about changes to the set up? if ur decide to change it up down the road, will the comp adapt? ex : bigger turbo, wanting to run higher boost, or rebuilding head cam profiles. i kno these are noob types of questions, ive done other builds just not na engine being boosted
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2009
  11. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    get a laptop, a wideband, and an ostrich and download crome.

    maotes.net for your various chips and such
    tunewithcrome.com for the software.

    you will need to re-tune for every change you make.
     
  12. pooksy64

    pooksy64 RidetilldeathdousparT

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    HOUSTON tX
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page